2024 PGA Championship WITB Photos ×

How do you hit a 56* Niblick from the sand

I already have the 42, and I love it, so I bought the 56 because of some of the posts that said it was easy to use in sand traps. I tried it out today on the range in a trap and couldn't get the ball in the air unless I played it way back in my stance. I've read others say they use a putting stance with this club in the sand, tried that, didn't even come close to the desired results. What am I doing wrong, because I really like the concept of these clubs and think that with some help, this could be a good club for me. Thanks

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I have a 49 degree Niblick and love it for short pitch and chips around the green. Nothing longer than 20 yards. My 58 degree wedge seems to work more dependably in the sand than the Niblick. The lie angle on the Niblick is too upright and encourages a steeper swing and digging, even with the blade laid flatter. Normal straight on sand shots are possible but "splash" sand shots that pop and land soft are more difficult. Also, harder pack sand, especially with a hard base, is not a friendly to the Niblick because of the shape of the large sole and bounce. It does work dependably on a generic sand shot, ball in center, medium arc, accelerate thru the ball/sand. But, not as versatile in the sand as a regular sand wedge. I don't know if the shallower face has anything to do with it. For me, it's the lie angle, then the shape of the sole. Dunno, everyone has a different style in the sand.