2024 John Deere Classic WITB Photos ×

Why do so many carry so much stuff in their bags?

MCDavis

I see a lot of posts that talk about all the "stuff" they carry in their golf bags, and I don't understand it. I keep balls, tees, band aids, a club brush, and my rain hood in my bag all the time. Other than those items (and my clubs), I can't find a need for anything else to stay in my bag. But some of you guys could live out of your golf bag for a week!

Average round takes 4 hours, and generally you're never more than 15 minutes from the clubhouse or your car. Weather channel gives the local forecast every 10 minutes. So, why do you need sweaters, rain suits, wind breakers, shoe spikes, spike tools, and whatever else extra you have in there?

I do understand that you might add an umbrella or necessary clothing for a specific round, but do they have to stay in the bag year round?

Not meaning to be rude to anybody, I just don't understand. I've been playing for 30 years and have just never had the need, even on golf trips.

Thanks for any input!

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

MCDavis, do you walk most of your rounds? If so, then it is easy to see why you don't have much "stuff" in your bag. If you don't walk and you ride for most of your rounds, then why wouldn't you carry all of that stuff? I carry a bunch of items in my bag all of the time................like, a pill bottle that has multiple aspirin, motrin, tylenol, etc.... band-aides, rain gloves, rain hood, sunscreen, coins for ball markers, divot tool, 6-10 golf balls, tees, I have even been carrying a bottle of OFF because of the mosqitos.

When I walk, I simply empty out the stuff I don't think that I will need for that day. It is easier to take it out then it is to remember to put it in. I have actually been caught out in the rain without any gear because I forgot to put it.