2024 CJ Cup Byron Nelson WITB Photos ×

2022 Grad - Gap or not 2 Gap, that's the question!

PlusHCP

I'm a 2022 HS grad ranked ~450 in JGS, +2.2 HCP, 74 scoring avg in junior tournaments and placing in top 30% in amateur tournaments I play in.  I was injured in the first half of 2020 and couldn't play golf but have gone from 78 to 74 in the past year, and still improving.  Ordinarily I would have reached out to coaches last year but, as you can see, the timing was about as bad as it could be - my scores before 2020 not being great and no way to show them in 2020 🙁

Now I'm finding that most D1s have filled their roster or have a 11-12 person rosters with many 5th year and senior players, which means I won't play.  I have zero interest in warming a bench for 1-2 years.  I have a couple of D1s interested and I can play on the teams (with no scholarship but not a problem) and they're not great academic choices nor are they powerhouse golf teams.  I want to be a Tour Pro and know how low the odds are, but don't want to give up without giving it my absolute ALL!

I've recently been wondering if I should take a gap year, focus on my golf, play amateur tournaments, see how I do and then look at different options:

1. reach out to college coaches next year when I'll for sure be even better

2.go for top academic schools (I know I can get in for sure with my grades and SAT) and forget about competitive golf

3.get into a top academic school now, request a deferral and reach out to the golf coach to see if I can play

Advice?  Feedback?

D1's are working on 2024 and late 2023 bloomers.

Here is the thing.  D1 isn't the end all be all.  You don't have to play D1 to go pro.  Often or not high level D2 and D3 will be better than D1 mid majors.

Personally, I think a Gap year is a waste of time.  Why would a D1 go after a Gap year when they can get a 2024/2025 that is just as good or better than the Gap year kids?

• Like 2