2024 John Deere Classic WITB Photos ×

SAM Puttlab Analysis and Recommendations

elderado953

Hi all,

I recently went through a club fitting for the first time, and had some really interesting results on SAM Puttlab (Attached). I am self taught, play to a 2, have never had my swing analyzed before, and have used the same Newport 2 my entire golfing career. My assessment is that my putting is worse than average for a 2 handicap: lag putting is OK but misses on short putts are almost always right.

The SAM analysis (attached) shows that I am extremely SBST with very little face rotation. My fitter explained that a face balanced mallet would be in theory recommended for my stroke type, but suggested that I aimed it and stroked it pretty well with my Newport 2 and there was no need to change. We tried a handful of face balanced and slight toe hang putters with different head shapes. I didn’t like the aesthetic of the mallets (LAB Mezz, Toulon Daytona, EVNroll ER11, etc) but some of the low toe hang double wide/square type blades (Toulon Chicago, Bettinardi Queen B 15) were appealing to me. I also tried an old Ping Karsten TR Anser 5 (face balanced blade) and the aesthetic of the long plumbers neck really threw me off.

Curious if any of my golf sickos on WRX can explain how I would benefit from switching to a specific type of putter? For example, is my stroke path and rotation a perfect fit to try a face balanced mallet? Or am I overthinking this and should just rely on what feels and looks good? Thanks!

Sam Puttlab Results.pdf

Your swing has a very low closure rate. The face angle starts slightly open and stays that way. From a fitting perspective, you’re very easy. You just have a bit too much toe weight / toe hang.