How often do / should you get lessons?

Tinymoon

First, a little about myself. I've been playing golf since last September (~7 months). When I say I've been playing golf since, I mean that I started playing on the course last September. I practiced a lot on the range before I was ready to head out. I broke 100 for the first time on new years day this year (shot a 96). Lately I've been shooting in the low 100s and couple weekends ago I completely forgot how to swing a club (got the yips) and had a horrible round. About double par on 3 holes in a row.

I read a lot of articles (online and Golf Digest) and watch a lot of videos (youtube). After reading a lot of posts on the forums, I decided I needed to take lessons. I had my first lesson last week from a PGA instructor. He was very thorough. Asked me my goals, how long I've played, other sports I've played, etc. He recorded my initial swing, my swing while doing a drill to fix the swing, and the result at the end of the 1/2 hour instruction. He even recorded himself speaking of what I need to do while playing my swing videos to burn on a CD for me to take home. He then asked me when I was free and wanted me to come in again in 1 week. I keep reading that you should take lessons every 3+ weeks in order to ingrain your swing changes in to your muscle memory. I don't think I'd want to be going weekly for about a month and then completely stop. I plan on doing a package deal of 6 lessons. The lessons in socal are pretty pricey. My lessons were $60 per half hour. After looking around at 10 instructors at the 2 driving ranges near where I live, this seems about average.

He seems like a good instructor because he taught me one main thing to work on until our next lesson. I need to shallow out my swing plane because I tend to come down to steep.

How often do you guys get lessons?

I read a similar post here:

http://www.golfwrx.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=141930