2024 PGA Championship WITB Photos ×

iron shaft comparison...

sbrylant

i'm interested in learning what the characteristics of different popular iron shafts are. with all things being equal (the person is using the correct stiffness/weight for each of the following shafts) what would you notice being different in the following:

1. TT DG

2. rifle

3. project x

4. kb tour

5. nippon

i guess what i'm really looking to find out is the launch, trajectory, smoothness, dispersion, etc. differences in the above shafts.

thanks...

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I can give you the results of the shafts that I've tried mate. Unfortunately, I don't have any experience with Nippon shafts but I'm keen to try KB Tour's in the near future.

1. TT DG

The Daddy of steel shafts. I've used X100's pretty much since I started playing. These shafts allow me to work the ball both ways, alter the trajectory and hit a variety of different shots more than any other. Mid launch with consistent flight.

2. Rifle

Designed for more of a swinger than a hitter. I actually fit better into Rifle Flighted shafts on full shots than TT DG's. The problem I found is that they don't load properly if you try to hit anything other than a full shot. Mid-high launch in standard Rifle's, consistent mid launch in Rifle Flighted.

3. Project X

Despite a lack of feel, the flight pattern on a full shot is exceptional. Boring trajectory that rises and flattens. As with Rifle shafts though, I struggled to get the desired results if I hit anything other than a full shot. Both standard and Flighted would be suitable for a swinger or a hitter.

i'm interested in learning what the characteristics of different popular iron shafts are. with all things being equal (the person is using the correct stiffness/weight for each of the following shafts) what would you notice being different in the following:

1. TT DG

2. rifle

3. project x

4. kb tour

5. nippon