2024 CJ Cup Byron Nelson WITB Photos ×

Driver and best ball for swing speed in low 90's?

greyguy

I am an 8 handicap who is currently playing with a Ping G10 driver 13 degrees. I currently get between 225 and 235 (depending on the fairway) if I hit the ball solidly off the tee. I currently use the Calloway Tour or Bridgestone 330 RX or S.

I am looking for more distance off the tee (just like everyone else) but still have good feel around the greens. Does anyone with a low 90's swing speed find a great combination of driver and ball?

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I second the E 6. I have been playing ProV1x for over 2 years, I switched a week ago. I am hitting longer and straighter drives, Irons are about ½ to ¼ club longer, with an addition roll out on the greens, however, they feel soft off the putter and great when chipping. Try them, they are great, plus they are cheap!

Both of your ball choices should be just fine. I play E5+ mostly, love the urethane cover, longer than most high end balls for me at mid 90s SS but soft and spins enough to hold greens. $25 a box is also fantastic. Spent plenty of rounds with Callaway Tour balls, they work very well (just ask Titleist). I would continue to play Callaway if there is a deal on them.

Really hard to say what driver would work best for you. Get to a demo day, or a launch monitor w/trained pro. There is no better way to pick a driver than to see the results.

Best of luck.

Try and pick up a COBRA L4V, stock red board shaft in regular, tipped 1/2 inch. Either E5+ or E6+ would be excellent as well as the NXT Tour if you want something a bit softer.

Titleist TSi2 10* Driver Tensei Blue 55S
TM Sim2 Max 16.5* 3 wood Tensei Blue 60S

TM SIM2 Titanium 5 Wood Tensei Blue 65S

TM SIM2 MAx 4 Hybrid Ventus Stiff shaft
Ping G410 5-UW Alta Graphite Shafts
Vokey SM8 56* sand wedge, Vokey SM9 60* lob wedge
Black Lab Oil Can 350g custom grind by "Geo" putter