2024 CJ Cup Byron Nelson WITB Photos ×

The Golf fix...I'm needing one :)

Video Embedded (included)
Hey guys!

I finally got a video up of my swing. I've been playing very sporadically for the past 5 years or so, completely self taught. My all time low for nine holes is just under 50, and I need some help. I would appreciate any feedback and any drills you would encourage me to try out. Just looking to get more consistent!

I particularly get wild with my long game. I shot 52 for 9 the other day with an 8 and a 10 on the par 5's. The other holes were fairly solid comparatively.

Some things I know I need to work on:
-Cut down on the backswing/limit lower body movement)
-Make sure my left arm stays locked out through the swing.

Let me know! Thanks in advance!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GFYVaFLHqYM

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Cut down on the backsing, yes... limit lower body rotation, not so much. With my swing (mostly self taught with help from a few friends that are scratch golfers), I have been encouraged to get a full hip and shoulder turn, because that is where your power comes from. However, if you allow the clubhead to travel too much, it will mess up timing on your downswing and at impact. One of the drills I do for hip/shoulder turn is [url="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hnbEsxM4sfw"]this one[/url]. Then to help with arms staying straight, I do the drill where you hold a clubhead cover under your armpit.

[quote name='midweston' timestamp='1302748582' post='3151857']
Hey guys!

I finally got a video up of my swing. I've been playing very sporadically for the past 5 years or so, completely self taught. My all time low for nine holes is just under 50, and I need some help. I would appreciate any feedback and any drills you would encourage me to try out. Just looking to get more consistent!