Question about new golfer wanting to experience different courses

Hello! I fell head over heels in love with golf this summer and have been playing at least 9 holes nearly every single day (I'm a teacher :)) I just moved to the area I live in and I don't have any golfing buddies yet. I'm really wanting to experience some different golf courses, but a few things are keeping me from doing it.

First is the fact that I would be going to a course as a single. I know there are a lot different courses with different rules and norms, but is it annoying/difficult to experience courses on your own? My father in law and I played a course this summer and a single was grouped with us and I felt pretty bad for him since we were pretty bad, but he was a pretty decent golfer.

I guess that is really the major issue: I'm worried about not performing well. Should I just get over this and enjoy the game, or should I wait to play different courses until I get my slice fixed? I don't hit a slice every time, but probably 1 out of every 3 find the tall stuff on the right and I'm out there wading around looking for my ball slowing people down. I don't know what my handicap is but I typically average a 45 on a par 36 on my normal course.

So how does everyone feel about being paired with or playing behind a guy like me?

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Unless you happen to play only in the company of the same group of friends every time you play, the answer is yes, you have to just get over it. I had not been playing golf more than a year or so before I noticed that the people I got paired up with on public courses were almost as likely to be a lot worse than me as be a lot better than me. But the key is to experience the game without judging yourself or worrying about others judging you.