2024 John Deere Classic WITB Photos ×

Caddy Programs

mikpga

Growth of the Game
Had a great meeting today at work! As a PGA Teaching Professional, my deepest passion is to grow the game of golf! Over the past 5 years I have participated in a wide variety of programs which introduced kids to the game at no cost to them. Usually these programs would be a one week or two week curriculum. They would be provided with clubs, instruction, food, etc...Although I think programs like this are great, I am concerned that it might not have the long lasting effect.

During the meeting, a fellow instructor mentioned the idea of bringing a caddy program to our 7 facilities.

I love this idea and would like to get some feedback from all of you...

1. Did you ever caddy?
2. Would you currently use a caddy?
3. How many public facilities have caddy programs?

Through the caddy program, kids will benefit greatly...
1. Learn the game.
2. Be mentored.
3. Develop relationships with golfers.
4. Earn money and potential scholarships.
5. Keep them off 'the streets'.

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I caddied for about a year, I had a great time and learned a lot about the game that I thought I already knew. From a golf side I think it help out with seeing the entire course, getting you in the mind set think through where to hit it and where you need to place the ball. It really helped me out with reading greens.

On the none golf side, you get great excersize, it forces you to interact and talk/network with people you normally won't talk with. Also you get paid and get to play some free golf usually.

The Only caddie programs I have seen at at private courses, outside the forcaddie program at Bears Best. I think if you had a semi-private course it would work. You could get the local members to get involved with it.