2024 US Open WITB Photos ×

I'm in Dana Point CA, 8/20-26 and need some advice.

Stljoe06

Hi gang, I'm new here and thought I would ask for some advice for courses to play the week of 8/20-8/26 when my wife and I are in Dana Point. We are staying at the Ritz Carleton at Dana Point. My wife is attending a seminar all day, my parents are taking the kids, and I am bringing my clubs. :)

I'll have a car, so I can get around, but I'm not familiar with the area. I have done some research and looked back on some old similar threads, but it might be nice to hear about present recommendations and conditions.

As a short background, I'm still new to the game, as August will be my second year of weekly lessons so I still qualify as a high handicapper (Best round is a 91, usually shoot either just below 100 or above if I'm not on my game).

I figure I have a solid 5 days of golf I can get in and have been considering the following:

1) Pelican Hill (either or both courses), I haven't decided.

2) Maderas

3) Aviara

4) Monarch Beach

5 Torrey Pines South

Just for clarification, I can hit it pretty straight and get around ok. I'm not a big hitter (yet...lol) and my golf coach wants me up front, so I'll play front tees. I don't have a Torrey tee time yet, and with the North closed, I wonder if I am going to be out of luck or if I should just plan on trying to get down there early and walk on.

Money is always a consideration, but I don't mind paying high fees for a superior experience even if my game is nowhere near where I am determined to take it.

Are these good ones to consider? Are there better ones I should look at? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Joe

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

For a vacation trip to hit the big names, looks to me like you've nailed the OC & San Diego courses pretty well. South Orange County is fairly central to all those tracks.

Have fun!