SkyCaddie Touch - How do you use it

I am a tech geek, I admit that on the front end. I have used Game Golf, Arccos (still have it) and use a laser to shoot distances AND.....I have a SkyCaddie touch.

Last week on vacation, I played a course that gave me a yardage book when I checked in. As I was flipping through it, I found that I learned alot about each hole as I was flipping through it. As I continued through the round, I found that I was using the physical yardage book more and more, especially standing on the tee box, as it provided me distances to certain locations, etc. From there I used the laser to figure out where I wanted to be on the green, maybe glancing at the skycaddie a couple of times as I exited the cart.

It got me to wondering, am I just not using the SkyCaddie to its full advantage. I know people on here swear by it, but I wonder if I am not using it to its full advantage. Anyone here a "super user" who wants to help me figure out how to make it more than just a front/middle/back device? I am trying to "be smarter" on the course and would love others insight.

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I've been a Skycaddie user for over a decade, and the Touch is my 5th or 6th model. I play 60 to 70 courses a year, with ~50 of them being first visits. Having hole layouts, and green shapes is a key component of scoring.

I start with the HoleView. I generally zoom in one level to get a better view of the landing area. I want to see the distances to the bunkers on either side of the fairway, as well as the carry distances over the bunkers. If it's a short hole, I'll consider hitting less than driver, and position the cursor to give me a preferred distance to the center of the green, which also gives me the distance to that point.