Single Length 2 years later

OsnolaKinnard

I played 18 yesterday and shot a 4 over par on the front 9 and 9 over par on the back 9.  The back 9 was actually better than the scorecard shows...I have had some 'health related shenanigans' over the past 14 months' and I literally just hit the wall on the 16th hole and ran out of gas and had two disasters.

Regardless, I have come to some conclusions for me regarding single length irons.  I am a tall golfer 6'4" tall.  Previous fittings have had me at irons based off of a 39" 5 iron and 3* upright lie angle.  My Edels are 37.5" long and 2* upright.  I love the 6-GW but in all honesty now that I have been using them for the past 2 years and have several rounds under my belt, I would have variable length irons in 4-6 irons and SL irons in my 7-GW.

I just don't think the SL Concept offers me any benefit in the longer and middle irons.  I won't say it does  not work, I just don't think it's better, or worse.  In fact, I think they're just sort of mediocre.  It's odd that I hit the 7-GW so well and the 6 iron is LITERALLY the exact same club except for loft, and I do not hit it as well.

Right now, my 'irons' are as follows:  4 iron is a Tour Edge CBX Ironwood.  5 iron is a CBX Ironwood.  6-GW Edel SLS01 irons.  I would like to extend my 6 iron .5" to bring it up to 38" long, and then leave the rest of the irons the same.  I am not sure how this would effect playability...either good or bad.  I removed the Edel SLS 5 iron and am contemplating a 6 iron replacement or lengthening the 6 iron to 38" long.