AOA to LAUNCH ANGLE - SPIN SAVED or LOST - LOFT COMPENSATION NEEDED

Howard_Jones

Thank you. I have one question, how do go about figuring dynamic loft? Or is that something I've need from the monitor to tell me? I know my AoA and the loft of the driver.

I'm working on teeing a little lower and making more consistent contact. I have AoA to spare and although it's been fun gaining distance over the winter I'm working on getting my old cut shot back in action to keep it in play. I have a few little tournaments and a league starting next month so time to get it dialed in for accuracy. 

Edited by ezra76

1 hour ago, ezra76 said:

I have one question, how do go about figuring dynamic loft? Or is that something I've need from the monitor to tell me? I know my AoA and the loft of the driver.

You’ll need a launch monitor to tell you your dynamic loft. What monitor are you using that tells you AoA but not dynamic loft?

Let me start by saying that I'm an interested amateur, and Howard is an experienced professional.  I feel like I understand the physics involved reasonably well, and think I mostly understand my own swing, but I've never done a fitting for anyone else.  

Tone is hard on the internet, and I'd ask you to read this as "confused" rather than "accusatory".  Line by line, I think I agree with everything Howard says. But the perspective here is so foreign to me that I think I must be missing something major:  Why would we assume that the dynamic loft would stay constant while the angle of attack changes?