Miura MC-102 Wow!

shepard

review of the Miura mid cap irons
I have been playing with Hogan Apex Edge forged irons for about five years. I absolutely love them. A lot has to do with the shaft, Apex-4. The replacement is the TT Dynalite shaft. The heads are soft and the combination of the softer shaft produce superior feel. Oh did I say how beautiful the heads are. Absolutely beautiful. So why I am I talking about them so much and how much I love them? Well its been about five years and I am going to be 60 in about two months and I a bit of a club ho and club hoing is a way I can indulge myself without going broke. (I don't need to have the big Mercedes or the hot Jaguar). I don't belong to a country club but here in the Chicago area that is actually an impediment since we have such superior munis. Think Cantigney, Thunderhawk, Oak Grove, Stonewall Orchard and if that isn't enough Kohler is about 2.5 hrs away. Hey I didn't even mention the south side courses!

So back to the irons. I have been reading about Miura for a long time. The equivalent for me is the MC-102. On a lark I purchased a very slightly used set of heads from a real nice guy and then took them over to my local Golfsmith. So you say why should I bring it to that bread and potatoes operation? Well I got to talking to one of the sales people. Note this guy does not look like a poster child for the tour. He was sort of old and fatter then me but boy did he know his equipment. I learned more in an hour talking to him than I could have possibly learned in many months scanning the boards. Then he told me that the other two old salts at Highland Park GS were respectively the best fitter he had ever seen (Art) and one of the best build men in the business (Ron). Ron spent many years in the tour vans and is a complete perfectionist. You should see the job he did for me! It pays to ask questions.