Best Off-Season Workout Program

DPG2247

I'm a new assistant pro and am looking to get back in shape during this off season. I have one more tournament left this upcoming Monday and then I want to begin a structured program that will last 3-3.5 months. I am a member at a nearby gym that can provide all the machines and weights that I will need. I work 40 hours a week and want to still hit balls for an hour or two before work so I don't want a program that will have me in the gym for several hours and something that will make me so sore that I won't be able to swing a golf club the next day (see P-90X). If anyone can recommend me a book or a website that could help me develop this program I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks in advance.

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Got some news for you...if you want to get in good shape, you are going to be sore in the beginning. If you stay consistent with your workouts, you won't be sore after workouts. but maybe a little stiff. That is natural, and let's you know you are making progress. In my view, P90X is excellent for golfers because it incorporates a variety of routines and stretching. A teaching pro I know has lost over 50 pounds in the past year doing this workout.

Blogging about all things golf on my blog at [url="https://www.scottcolegolf.com"]Scott Cole Golf[/url]. Will be getting back to teaching part time in 2019!

if your looking for off season.. a true off season

go lift heavy on the big muscles, always work out the core, and fit in lots of stretching

and in between work in cardio or max interval training stuff

i know things like p90x and insanity work but all it is max interval training and using own body weight (which isnt a bad thing), but truly a good off season workout involves lifting heavy to build insane power :) IMHO and mixing it up with cardio and stretching