2024 John Deere Classic WITB Photos ×

My opinion on the GX-3?

MTM

Hole in One the first round I used it!
I had been somewhat reluctant to buy one of these as I had tried to use one of the very first laser rangefinders made for golf years ago and had a really difficult time with a steady hand. I've been using a SkyCaddie for several years now.

I tested a few lasers and actually had an easier time with the Bushnell 1600 as far as keeping it steady but horror stories about their customer service were consistent not only here but at my regular golf shop. They said Bushnell sucks with warranty stuff and standing by their product in general.

I bought a Leupold GX3 yesterday and fiddled around with it last night. Went out today and found shooting the flag pretty easy. Only once did I have any real issue but I was shooting a flag at 197 with a mound behind the green at 210 that kept picking up. Even so, in scan mode, it was pretty easy to determine that the flag was 197.

Hole number 17 I aced. Now I know that Holes in One require a certain amount of luck but it was a funny coincidence that it happened the first time I used a laser rangefinder.

I still plan on renewing my SkyCaddie membership in May and using both but the laser was a real nice compliment to my game.

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

[quote name='MTM' timestamp='1329601788' post='4318491']
I had been somewhat reluctant to buy one of these as I had tried to use one of the very first laser rangefinders made for golf years ago and had a really difficult time with a steady hand. I've been using a SkyCaddie for several years now.

I tested a few lasers and actually had an easier time with the Bushnell 1600 as far as keeping it steady but horror stories about their customer service were consistent not only here but at my regular golf shop. They said Bushnell sucks with warranty stuff and standing by their product in general.