2024 PGA Championship WITB Photos ×

poorboy newbie shaft help

hi all fresh newbie here. just getting back into golf.

my driver swing speed ranges 92-108. but more consistently my 6 iron swing is 85.

my current driver is an old mizuno mp001 with a regular exsar shaft cut down to to 45. i went shorter to find consistency and with a regular to force learning better tempo

my delema is i really have to slow my driver swing down to the low 90's range to keep from really losing it. all my other clubs are stiff which i can go after more.

im only 5'8" with rather short legs and a long torso. all my clubs are standard length 2deg flat and seem perfect on the lie board.

im thinkin my new driver shaft should be 44.5 or so cuz of my height..... but doesnt taking that much off the shaft increase flex? i been looking at the older nv 65in stiff, fuji e360 in reg, pershing 65 stiff, and the ys7 and ys6 cuz of my budget. my delema is at 44.5 which shaft at what flex will play moderatly stiff but not feel like a board. im leaning toward the ys7 to help restore some swing weight but how much should i tipp it? any opinion are more than welcome.

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Cut from the butt end and you won't notice the effect on flex..... all the shafts you listed are good but at least get on a LM at a Golfsmith or something to try to narrow it down. Throw the harrison saga into the mix as well.... works for lots of players. 44.5" is longer than a lot of tour pros of all sizes play. I'm 6"1 and usually play drivers at 44. I'd take control over distance on most holes.

And if you're hitting a little push fade and ending up in the first cut, aim farther left. There's nothing better in the game than a shot you can repeat consistently.

[quote name='highergr0und' timestamp='1343710189' post='5382436']