2024 PGA Championship WITB Photos ×

Ugggh! Why can I hit my driver straight at the range, but I slice on the course?

I've been battling a slice with all my woods for about 2 months now. I haven't played in about 3 weeks (since my son broke his leg), but I've been at the range 2 times a week-sometimes more. I generally hit a jumbo bucket (105 balls), and hit only 10-20 with my irons. The rest are saved for my woods, predominately my driver(s).

Last night, I hit 75 balls with my drivers, alternating between the MacTec and the Nickent 3DX Square. I made a note of ball flight and mishits. Of the 75 balls I hit, 8 were bad; 6 slices and 2 smothered hooks. The rest were either high, straight and long, or a pronounced fade (still landed more or less in the "fairway"). ROUGHLY 60% of my good hits were fades.

I finally get a chance to play today, and I am really eager to get out there and pound my driver. The first hole is a slight dogleg right, but it plays from an elevated tee, the fairway dips about 30 feet then climbs back to level at around the 260-ish mark.

I go through the same routine I do at the driving range, paying close attention to ball position and proximity to the ball. I swing away (no swing thoughts just trying to use the same swing I grooved the past 3 weeks). PFFFT. Banana ball. Second hole, same thing. I switch to the 3DX for the next par-4, same result. I hit 3-WOOD from the next tee...you guessed it slice-o-matic.

Can anyone give me an idea as to why this happens? I am definitely going to schedule a lesson as soon as possible, focusing on my tee game. It really sucks, 'cause I am hitting my irons sooo good right now, and my wedge play is outstanding. I saved par on 3 holes today because I hit my 3rd shot with a GW or SW to within 8' (one was within 3').