2024 CJ Cup Byron Nelson WITB Photos ×

Golf Courses / Partners in northern NJ

umassgolfer

Hi,

I am brand new to Northern Jersey, moving from right outside of DC. We are lucky enough to have a good number of public fee courses that can be played under 90 dollars on the weekend and are in good condition with a general solid feel to the experience. And suggestions on what courses within about an hour or Hawthorne / Paramus should be considered for somewhat regular play?

Alternatively, I may be interested in joining a semi-private club if a decent assiciate membership is offered. Any ideas here?

Lastly, I am moving for work and have no social circle at all in NJ. I am a 23 yr old guy, andI generally shoot in the 80's, with the occasional round in the 70's thrown in. Shoot me a PM if you want to get a round in sometime.

Thanks guys!

• 3 weeks later...
  • Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I live in JC and have played all over the metro area the past few years.

Crystal springs courses - Wild Turkey, Ballyowen, Black Bear, Crystal Springs are all quality, but play them when you can get a deal. Prime time fees are expensive.

Neshanic Valley and High Bridge Hills are both linksish/farm style layouts that are both nice. Neshanic has 27 holes and great practice facility.

The Morris county courses are supposed to be great, Berkshire Valley and Sunset Valley - but I have not played either yet

Spook Rock in Suffern NY is one of my favorite go-to's. Its an old country club that was bought by the town. Nice practice area and classic country club style layout.

More towards the shore is Colts Neck GC and Hominy Hill. Hominy is one of best public courses in NJ, and CNGC is a nice option thats easier to get on although a little short. Really like both of these.