2024 PGA Championship WITB Photos ×

Erin Hills (WI)

Pictures/review.
Well, I was initially supposed to be able to play this course in August. Wouldn't you know, something came up for work where I had to cancel (and I work in insurance, where golf is almost a pre-req).. :bomb:

If you unfamilure with it, it's a new course outside of Milwaukee that the USGA is going crazy over. You can read most of the published bits about it at their site: www.erinhills.com (there was recently a snippet about it in Golf Magazine, Vol 48, #10 - Oct). It really is a natural arena for golf.. as dirt was only moved on 4 holes. Thank God and the glaciers for that one..

But, I was finally able to play out there this past Saturday (Oct 14th). Weather wasn't the best, as there were 20 mph winds, and it was bloody cold (upper 30s, low 40s). But, hey.. at least it wasn't raining. Too bad we just missed the fall colors, as the course would have been absolutely georgeous..

Here are some thoughts and pictures (since nobody has really added any yet) of the course. I know some are blurry (sorry 'bout that).

1 (par 5) - Interesting. He hit into a left angling fairway, with a lot of ungilation. Depending on the lie you end up with will determine a lot on if you go for the green in two or not. Not me, as my lie was brutal. The green itself is cut out into a bog, so there's danger on three sides if you don't hit a decent shot.

2 (par 4) - Interesting as well. Short par 4, but placement is key. As, if you get out on the right side, you end up having a blind shot into a very, very small green. On top of that, there's an evil looking pot bunker on the right side. Precision is definitely the name of the game on this hole.