3Bays GSA: Initial Impression

Summary

3BaysGSA (3Bays Golf Swing Analyzer) is a small transmitter that plugs into the butt end of the grip via the drainage hole and sends data wirelessly via blue tooth to your Apple iOS or Android devices. Here is more info on the device and videos on what it does. The app is free to download from Apple or Android store.

Background

I’m mostly self-taught (rightly or wrongly) and have been looking for swing analyzers that gives me immediate feedback on any swing changes. I have taken some lessons before, but I find that once the instructor or Launch Monitor isn’t there when I practice on my own, I tend to go back to old habits. Let the vicious cycle repeat.

Packaging

51IzDTsMlgL._SL500_AA300_.jpg

If you’ve ever purchased a small bottle of ice wine then the packaging of the 3BaysGSA is very similar: Outer sleeve, followed by a rigid box with magnetic enclosure and foam cutouts for the GSA device. It also comes with a leather tube carrying case and a microUSB cable and charger. Minimal instructions is provided in print as the rest is either built-into the app or on their website.

Setting up

Just pair it with your phone or tablet and you can start using it right away. I took some time to look through the various settings/features and after about a minute or so I was ready to go.

31m054fBSFL.jpg

The Device plugs in at the end of the grip via the grip’s drain hole and there is an alignment arrow on the device that you need to adjust to match the club face (or grip logo for those of you who do not play with grip logo down).

Warning: Although the tip is quite sturdy, it's still only plastic. Instead of ramming it into the hole or yanking it out, I suggest twisting it in place so as to not put so much force on the tip

Once the blue lights on the device is steady, you’re ready to swing, after each swing the blue lights will flash to transmit the data and stops once transmission is complete (usually about 3-5 seconds).