Competetive golf, anyone?

I recently turned 60 and joined the Men's Senior Association at my favorite local public course. It's been only 3 weeks but I am already seeing signs of a part of golf that is not attractive to me. While I am new to playing regular golf more than a couple times a month or even most years prior to 2015 when I went all-in pursuing one of my goals of retirement life spending leisurely days playing, and I mean PLAYING golf. Some of the players I've observed are very competitive against the other members. How, I wonder, can they be serious about the game when they constantly improve their lies by moving the ball before hitting each shot. Even in the fairway I see players improving their lie. Last week a player improved his lie in the sand trap! Any ball hit into the rough is a free drop. League rules. My question is: Is this normal play at your golf course? Is this how "golfers" play? I have only ever played one way. You play the ball as it lies. If their is any question about the lie of the ball it should be discussed with other players for a ruling. Such as tree roots or rocks that may damage the player or clubs. I would enjoy hearing some feedback or opinions about this subject. I enjoy playing by myself, walking and being in touch with my clubs the course as I battle the pursuit of making a par and enjoying the surroundings such as the trees, flowers, birds, the layout of the design of the course while swinging my persimmons and old blades in the traditions of the game I so enjoy.

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I've been a member of two clubs for 12 years and everyone plays by the rules of the rcga in Canada

but we have cheaters and that sucks the enjoyment out of what's supposed to be a pastime

It got so bad that I just play with friends now and only play in the bigger tournaments

I've seen guys report a rules infraction on a long term member only to be ostracized for doing it