2024 Rocket Mortgage Classic WITB Photos ×

MacGregor shaft flexes

Hello,

I was wondering if anyone could help me out with information on the shaft flex numbering system that Macgregor used on certain shafts.

I've seen shafts with "1" and "2" on them, and have heard that "1" is stiff, "2" is regular, and there is also "3" to denote flexible.

First, how uniform were these flexes, bearing in mind that they seem to be attached to different makes of shafts?

Second, compared to modern shafts, just how stiff is "stiff"? For example, is it more comparable to DG X100, or S300?

For the record, I bought a 1980s reissue set of Mac VIPs last year with True Temper S300 shafts in them that felt stiffer to me than the current S300, so I'm wondering if the "1" is pretty close to X100.

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Depends on the type of shaft. I'm not an expert, but they had a few shafts that used that numbering convention that I've seen. In the Propels and MacGregor Tourney shafts the 1 plays like a modern x stiff IMO.

Driver, 3W, 4W - Macgregor Custom Tourney
2-10 - 1954 Spalding Synchro Dyned
SW - Wilson Staff
Putter - Bullseye
Ball - Pro Plus

YT Channel - [url="https://www.youtube.com/PlayVintageGolf"]https://www.youtube....PlayVintageGolf[/url]

Thanks for the answers. I thought that might be the case. The thing is, I have seen these shaft designations on a Japanese auction site, but there isn't always a clear enough picture of the shaft label to figure out the shaft type. In the worst cases, the seller may give no more information about the shaft than "feels stiff". Well, helpful... :rolleyes:

Recent ones I have seen were a "Dynamic Steel" shaft with a "1" flex, and what the seller called a "Muirfield" shaft with a "1". It's a green label with "Dynamic" written on it, so a True Temper model. That being the case, I would assume it's pretty stiff.