2024 PGA Championship WITB Photos ×

First Post-Any love for Joe Durant?

exgolfpro

Hello, all. This is my first day on this site. I have been on 4GEA for 3 years and was told about this site, over there. I was told you guys are "serious golfers...maybe too serious". That is just what i'm after on these forums. I hang out in the forums a lot, I have 2100 posts in 3 years.

Background-I am a former club pro and now work in the insurance business. 41 yrs old. +1.8 hdcp. Crappy long game, good short game. I love, love, love to discuss swing theory.

Here is my question. Joe Durant is a ball striking fool. He is always in the tops of fairways hit and greens hit. I would only think if he was an above average putter, he would win some more and we would hear his name more often. What do you guys think of his swing? Any videos available?

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

He has one of my favorite swings on tour. PM me and I will send you a swing of his I have from this past years Masters Tournament.

I agree over the last decade he has been the premier ball striker on tour. It is a shame more people don't look to it as a model. His teacher Ron Gring is pretty good too. Lots-O-TGM/Mac influence in his action.

well last year he actually slipped a bit.

I think Joe has a great swing but is very conservative by his nature I do not think he putts as bad as he does not hit it that close to the hole. I think its a mindset

I also wonder how good a wedge player and short game he has.

Its funny I heard his teacher was his cousin Tommy Jeanette don't know where I heard it. I grew up playing golf with Tommy in Pensacola Fla great great player had a lot of issues though If he could have kept his head straight could have been a superstar