Resource for parents of aspiring junior golfers

Tugu

Good day all

Been thinking of starting a post that can serve as a resource for parents of young golfers who aspire to play high level golf in the USA. Hopefully as this thread progresses, it will cover a broad range of issues including various tours in America, equipment, training, college recruiting, differing views on when to start and how hard to push, if any.

I have alot of holes in my knowledge as I am just a father and coach to 2 boys who has seen junior golf up close in Asia, Australia and now the USA. So I will hopefully be learning as much as I am contributing. My eldest one just verbally committed to play for a highly ranked California D1 school. So I will probably be asking members how to help him balance a computer science major with a very full schedule.

I am going to kick things off with thoughts on tours and competitions, just because it has been on my mind. I will tackle the issue with college recruitment in mind because I have been neck deep in it for the last year or so.

My boys arrived in America and were temporarily based in Florida. We played in a single US Kids event and hoped it could be useful to use it as a training ground for going low and testing whether one can take their range or practice round game to the course in a competitive setting where every shot matters. Reason we only played one was that we found it to be filled with hobbyist golfers who would literally shoot 100+. Plus add the volatile mixture of parental involvement as caddies, it was no bueno.

Then we watched as our friends play some hurricane tour, future champions, FJT, SFPGA events. I probably left a few out, but we didn't play in them because most were kinda useless and some were money grabs. The standard of golf overall was kind of low and we guessed that college coaches didn't pay much attention to the result unless one could take it deep.