2024 PGA Championship WITB Photos ×

Is Titleist still the #1 ball in golf???

crmelk

While watching the Mercedes a few weeks ago one of the commentators mentioned that Vijay is no longer with Titleist. This kind of came as a shock to me because I consider Titleist to be the best ball on the market. Then I started to think about it. Phil, Tiger, Ernie, Sergio all have left! Most of the guys that I play with give me the, "they're all the same" line but I would really like to hear what you guys have to say. I have been playing Titleist since I started playing simply because...well every on tour did! Now I'm not so sure if they are the best and if they deserve that $50 price tag per dozen. It would be nice to save some $$$ on balls and get the same or better performance.

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I think it would take a lot to knock them off of the top spot. You never really know why the pro's switch balls there's always money involved. As far as you switching to other balls, you'll never know if there are better balls out there until you try. I personally would never pay $50 for golf balls, but that's not to say it isn't worth the price. I'll stick to balls that are in the $20-25, and even then I don't buy them new.

By any yardstick, Titleist balls still reign supreme at all levels of top amateur and professional golf.

The reason so many big names have gone elsewhere is simply because they've been offered similarly big wads of hard cash to play something else and have found that it equals or exceeds the performance of the prior ball.

Personally, I dont think the recent price hike is a good move - and rifling through the pockets of Joe Public to pay off the cost of the recent court case in one fell swoop is a bad move in my opinion, and could alienate some of the buying public.

Nike Ignite 410 10.5° Grafalloy Blue X

Nike T60 15° Fujikura Speeder 757 X