Need to buy a putter, help!

huggbees ·  
huggbeeshuggbees Members  28WRX Points: 0Posts: 28
I just picked up this game two months ago and have been practicing everyday and getting pretty decent. I'm currently using some second-hand Nike Slingshots, used Ping I-Wedges, some unknown driver, and a $15.99 Slotline putter (got it for free so I can't complain). Since I'm still new to the game I've decided to hold off on splurging on new irons, wedges, and driver until I get a better idea of what I need and they do fine for me now. I still shank and chunk the irons occasionally so I don't want to do unnecessary damage to new clubs image/biggrin.png' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':fool:' />

I just took two lessons on short-game and figured the putter would experience the least wear and tear so I want to buy my first real piece of equipment. I prefer a classic putter shape like the Yes! Tracy or Ping Anser, slightly heavier head (not too much), and something that doesn't require customization since I have no idea what I'm doing. Also, with my cheapo Slotline I don't feel like I'm getting any feedback when I hit. Are there putters that provided better feel and distance control? I'm 5'11" if it'll help determine what length shaft I should be using since most putters offer 34"-36" options.

For some reason the two pro-shops at the golf courses where I play don't have any clubs to buy even though they come up as official distributors/retailers, maybe they have to special order it? In this case should I just buy from the manufacturer's site directly? My budget is ~$200 unless there's something significantly better for $50-$75 more then I have no problem digging a little deeper. Thanks and fire away!
Posted:

Comments

• knudson81knudson81 My WITB is $100 but my swing is $.50 Marshals, Media Staffer  3261WRX Points: 292Posts: 3,261 Marshals