Your high school golf team..

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

When I was a freshman in high school I shot 78-80-77 on a par 70 course and qualified 11th. My senior year I think our 6 man on our A team had an average score of 38 or 39. Meanwhile our B team shot everywhere from low 150's to 160's in matches. Over my four years our A team shot in the 130's several times and won states by at least 24 shots each year. I think that their play has gone down in the past few years. Since 1998 around 15 or 16 guys have gone on to play at D1 schools. The 1998 class had 6 alone. The only team that had our number during my time was Baylor in Chattanooga namely because they had Luke List and several other kids who went on to play high D1

We have the current AJGA New York state champion on our team, but hes just a fluke compared to the rest of the squad! :blink:

We had the best team in our school's history this past year, our 1 guy (state champ, nothing else left to say) and our 2 guy were scratch golfers. 3rd and 4th guy (4th guy being me) were equal, high 30s low 40s guys, then 5 and 6 guys were equal, low 40s guys. Fairly solid team for the area, placed second in our section championships. But compared to most other teams in the nation, we stink!

You have to shoot low 80s at tryouts to make the team, which consists of 6 starters who play the entire season, and 4 backup guys in case something happens with the original 6.

[sign here]

Unfortunately my team isnt quite as good as you guy's. Our 1 and 2 guys are gonna have to pretty much carry the team. As in, for us to not embarrass ourselves, we cant be more than 1 or 2 over par. From there we go to our 3 and 4 guys who will most likely post in the low 40's with an occasional 39. Then, our 5 and 6 will be lucky to break 45.

-Kyle