Anti-hook Hybrid Project

kthomas

I have Cobra F7 hybrids that I bought a couple of years ago slightly used off of eBay, with the OEM regular flex shafts.

When I first got them, I used to hit them pretty well. I've progressed a lot in my golf game, and my swing has gotten a lot better, however I have developed a more pronounced tendency to hook the hybrids on mishits. If I hit the hybrids well, it's usually a fade. But it doesn't take much for that fade to turn into a hook, and because of that I've lost confidence in these clubs.

All my other clubs have stiff shafts in them. I'm debating about putting in a shorter and stiffer shaft, to replace the OEM regular flex shaft. 

I'm a broke college student, so I can't spend much playing around with different clubs. I can get a brand new Tensei Blue hybrid stiff flex shaft for $35 (I currently have a Tensei Blue in my 3W), and a Cobra hybrid adapter for ~$25. Seems like a cheap experiment, but I want to know from those more knowledgeable then myself if going with a shorter, stiffer hybrid shaft is worth trying out to mitigate hooks. 

I hot melted mine and put all the weight in the toe section to aid in helping me holding the face open and it worked very well.  It fulfilled multiple needs for me as I needed extra weight and swing weight.  I added 25 grams and it had a dramatic effect in the closure rate of the toe section of the club which holds the face open and eliminated "Mr. Snappy" completely.  I can still of course pull a ball but hitting a snap hook is all but eliminated. It was a dead simple and cheap way to make the club work for me.  Any club can be manipulated so long as the golfer doesn't mind adding weight to the club. And also of note...the shaft has almost nothing to do with hooking a club.   

• Like 1

4 hours ago, Righty to Lefty said: