Jump to content

LR E5/Red penalty direct line question


Recommended Posts

This is from the USGA Local Rules.

 

"A line from the hole through the fairway reference point (point B) (and within two club-lengths to fairway side of that line)"

 

My question is the reference point.  If a point where the fairway meets the rough is that reference point and do you have to mark with a tee?  Then do the two club lengths from that point need to marked also?  

 

If they do need to be and the ball is dropped and rolls a few inches closer to the hole is that then not a correct drop.  Would one incur a penalty from then hitting that ball?  

 

The same question would be from taking direct line relier from a red penalty area.  Once a ref point has been determined and the ball rolls a couple inches toward the hole.  Is that a bad drop also? (Even if that point is, say, 15 yards behind the place the ball last crossed the penalty area

 

IF the ball is then played what are the penalties?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

16 minutes ago, denkea said:

My question is the reference point.  If a point where the fairway meets the rough is that reference point and do you have to mark with a tee?  Then do the two club lengths from that point need to marked also?  

 

R14.1 tells us "Before lifting a ball under a Rule requiring the ball to be replaced on its original spot, the player must mark the spot . . . ."

 

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=14&subrulenum=1

 

So, the short answer is, no tees are required.

 

That said, in competitive golf most players will mark even when not required to do so. They do it for two reasons 1) because they don't really know when they must, and 2) it demonstrates to others who may be watching that the relief area has been correctly defined. 

Knowledge of the Rules is part of the applied skill set which a player must use to play a round of competitive golf.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

25 minutes ago, denkea said:

If they do need to be and the ball is dropped and rolls a few inches closer to the hole is that then not a correct drop.  Would one incur a penalty from then hitting that ball?  

 

The same question would be from taking direct line relier from a red penalty area.  Once a ref point has been determined and the ball rolls a couple inches toward the hole.  Is that a bad drop also? (Even if that point is, say, 15 yards behind the place the ball last crossed the penalty area

 

The ball must be dropped into and remain within the defined relief area. See the Definition of Drop:

 

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=definitions&subrulenum=14

Knowledge of the Rules is part of the applied skill set which a player must use to play a round of competitive golf.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, sui generis said:

 

The ball must be dropped into and remain within the defined relief area. 

Hey, buddy . . . I’m betting you wish you said, “The ball must be dropped into and COME TO REST within the defined relief area.”  (Momentary excursions outside are acceptable,)

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Did both of you miss the last one or am I incorrect?

 

op posted

The same question would be from taking direct line relier from a red penalty area.  Once a ref point has been determined and the ball rolls a couple inches toward the hole.  Is that a bad drop also? (Even if that point is, say, 15 yards behind the place the ball last crossed the penalty area

IF the ball is then played what are the penalties?

 

If he was taking back on line from entry point does he not have a two club length corridor to drop on? One club length from either side of line? And if it rolls closer  to hole Fromm the drop point but still 15 yards back it is still a good drop if it stayed within the width of the corridor? 
 

Many folks seem to think any drop that bounces forward a bit needs to be redropped but does it not need to get closer than original spot?

Edited by Shilgy
  • Like 1

Callaway Epic Speed 9* playing at 8* PX Hzrdus Green 60s

Titleist TS3 strong 3 wood 13.5* PX Hzrdus. Smoke 75s

Titleist 818H2 19* hybrid Tensei Blue

Adams A12 21* UST VTS Silver 75s

Titleist TS3 23* Tensei Blue

Srixon ZX7 6-pw Nippon Pro Modus 125s

Taylormade MG2 50* 54* 58* DG S300

Scotty Cameron Newport Special Select 34” with flow neck by LaMont

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, Shilgy said:

Did both of you miss the last one or am I incorrect?

 

op posted

The same question would be from taking direct line relier from a red penalty area.  Once a ref point has been determined and the ball rolls a couple inches toward the hole.  Is that a bad drop also? (Even if that point is, say, 15 yards behind the place the ball last crossed the penalty area

IF the ball is then played what are the penalties?

 

If he was taking back on line from entry point does he not have a two club length corridor to drop on? One club length from either side of line? And if it rolls closer  to hole Fromm the drop point but still 15 yards back it is still a good drop if it stayed within the width of the corridor? 
 

Many folks seem to think any drop that bounces forward a bit needs to be redropped but does it not need to get closer than original spot?

 

The only question of importance is, "did the ball come to rest within the relief area"? The reference point which determines the front edge of the relief area is the point where the ball is assumed to be lost or crossed the OB margin for E-5. For Back-on-the-Line relief (Penalty Areas and Unplayable Balls) it's the point the player chooses, or if left unchosen, the point in which the ball first touched the ground.

 

For E-5, the ball could travel a hundred meters towards the hole as long as the ball was dropped at least a hundred meters behind the reference point. In the other extreme, for BotL relief when the player doesn't choose a reference point, the ball cannot move an inch closer to the hole than where it first hit the ground. (Unless the MLR E-12 is in effect.)

 

  • Like 1

Swing DNA: 91/4/3/6/6
D & 3W: ST 180 / 3i: MP-H5 / 4-PW: MP-4 / 50º: MP-T5 / 55º: FG Tour PMP  / 60º: Hi-Toe / Mizuno Bettinardi BC-4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, Shilgy said:

Did both of you miss the last one or am I incorrect?

 

op posted

The same question would be from taking direct line relier from a red penalty area.  Once a ref point has been determined and the ball rolls a couple inches toward the hole.  Is that a bad drop also? (Even if that point is, say, 15 yards behind the place the ball last crossed the penalty area

IF the ball is then played what are the penalties?

 

If he was taking back on line from entry point does he not have a two club length corridor to drop on? One club length from either side of line? And if it rolls closer  to hole Fromm the drop point but still 15 yards back it is still a good drop if it stayed within the width of the corridor? 
 

Many folks seem to think any drop that bounces forward a bit needs to be redropped but does it not need to get closer than original spot?

 

Back-on-the-line is still a work in progress in my opinion.

 

The procedure described in R17.1d wants the player to mark a reference point and drop in the now-defined relief area. That's well and good if the player does indeed chose a reference point. If they don't, things get messy.

 

Prior to 2019, the player need not choose a reference point and could drop and come to rest anywhere in the "lane." 2019 complicated the procedure somewhat,

  • Like 1

Knowledge of the Rules is part of the applied skill set which a player must use to play a round of competitive golf.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

32 minutes ago, Halebopp said:

 

The only question of importance is, "did the ball come to rest within the relief area"? The reference point which determines the front edge of the relief area is the point where the ball is assumed to be lost or crossed the OB margin for E-5. For Back-on-the-Line relief (Penalty Areas and Unplayable Balls) it's the point the player chooses, or if left unchosen, the point in which the ball first touched the ground.

 

For E-5, the ball could travel a hundred meters towards the hole as long as the ball was dropped at least a hundred meters behind the reference point. In the other extreme, for BotL relief when the player doesn't choose a reference point, the ball cannot move an inch closer to the hole than where it first hit the ground. (Unless the MLR E-12 is in effect.)

 

 

27 minutes ago, sui generis said:

 

Back-on-the-line is still a work in progress in my opinion.

 

The procedure described in R17.1d wants the player to mark a reference point and drop in the now-defined relief area. That's well and good if the player does indeed chose a reference point. If they don't, things get messy.

 

Prior to 2019, the player need not choose a reference point and could drop and come to rest anywhere in the "lane." 2019 complicated the procedure somewhat,

Thank you both. If i am reading correct then when taking relief for any reason a relief area should be defined by a semi circle? So even when taking botl relief the ball cannot move forward of that arc after dropping?  I have always played it as it cannot end up forward of the original spot.  Which is now incorrect.

Callaway Epic Speed 9* playing at 8* PX Hzrdus Green 60s

Titleist TS3 strong 3 wood 13.5* PX Hzrdus. Smoke 75s

Titleist 818H2 19* hybrid Tensei Blue

Adams A12 21* UST VTS Silver 75s

Titleist TS3 23* Tensei Blue

Srixon ZX7 6-pw Nippon Pro Modus 125s

Taylormade MG2 50* 54* 58* DG S300

Scotty Cameron Newport Special Select 34” with flow neck by LaMont

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

6 hours ago, Shilgy said:

 

Thank you both. If i am reading correct then when taking relief for any reason a relief area should be defined by a semi circle? So even when taking botl relief the ball cannot move forward of that arc after dropping?  I have always played it as it cannot end up forward of the original spot.  Which is now incorrect.

Back on the line relief was much simpler in the previous Rules code.  It seems that for the effort of uniformity/consistency for relief areas, the botl relief has become much more complicated for those players who wish to drop near the "front edge" of the semi-circle.  Not so complicated for those who drop half a club-length behind the reference point.  I would much rather have that half club-length near the hole rather than 100 or so yards away from the hole.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

My version of E-12 would say:

 

Reference Point: A point on the course chosen by the player that is on the reference line and is farther from the hole than the estimated point (with no limit on how far back on the line):

 

In choosing this reference point, the player must indicate the point by using an object (such as a tee).

 

If a player fails to mark this reference point and proceeds, they will have played from a wrong place. See Rule 14.7.

Knowledge of the Rules is part of the applied skill set which a player must use to play a round of competitive golf.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, sui generis said:

My version of E-12 would say:

 

Reference Point: A point on the course chosen by the player that is on the reference line and is farther from the hole than the estimated point (with no limit on how far back on the line):

 

In choosing this reference point, the player must indicate the point by using an object (such as a tee).

 

If a player fails to mark this reference point and proceeds, they will have played from a wrong place. See Rule 14.7.

The easy thing to agree is MLR E-12 is truly ugly. But I would hate the new procedural penalties this approach would introduce. Golf was full of them, we made progress in getting rid of them, this would IMO move us back towards the dark ages.

 

I would eliminate E-12, I would separate BOL relief from other relief in a minimalist way (it is simply not possible to do BOL relief precisely the same as all other relief), the relief area would be defined as within once club length of the line and one club length of the spot on that line equidistant from the hole to where the ball landed when dropped (subject to the usual no closer to the hole than the edge/position taking penalty relief from). 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Eliminate E-12.  Botl relief anywhere within the corridor created by one club-length on each side of the line.  No reference point.  The ball must stay within the corridor and it doesn't matter how far or which direction it rolls provided it does not roll nearer the hole that the point where the ball originally lay outside a penalty area or the point where it last crossed the edge of a penalty area.

  • Like 3
Link to comment
Share on other sites

6 hours ago, rogolf said:

Eliminate E-12.  Botl relief anywhere within the corridor created by one club-length on each side of the line.  No reference point.  The ball must stay within the corridor and it doesn't matter how far or which direction it rolls provided it does not roll nearer the hole that the point where the ball originally lay outside a penalty area or the point where it last crossed the edge of a penalty area.

We are suggesting something similar, with significant overlap. I support with the 'corridor' concept relating to width, but I don't like the idea of unlimited capacity to move forward or backward any significant distance - simply because it is too different from all other relief processes.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

8 hours ago, antip said:

The easy thing to agree is MLR E-12 is truly ugly. But I would hate the new procedural penalties this approach would introduce. Golf was full of them, we made progress in getting rid of them, this would IMO move us back towards the dark ages.

 

I would eliminate E-12, I would separate BOL relief from other relief in a minimalist way (it is simply not possible to do BOL relief precisely the same as all other relief), the relief area would be defined as within once club length of the line and one club length of the spot on that line equidistant from the hole to where the ball landed when dropped (subject to the usual no closer to the hole than the edge/position taking penalty relief from). 

So am I correct in assuming that if E-12 were not in effect and someone dropped BOL without marking the relief point, where the ball lands is in effect THE relief point and it moves 1" forward is that not a bad drop and if hit incurs a penalty? 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

15 minutes ago, denkea said:

So am I correct in assuming that if E-12 were not in effect and someone dropped BOL without marking the relief point, where the ball lands is in effect THE relief point and it moves 1" forward is that not a bad drop and if hit incurs a penalty? 

 

There's no requirement to mark the reference point even though it's recommended. Therefore you can just make a mental note of it. But if you failed to also do that, then yes, it would be a bad drop.

Swing DNA: 91/4/3/6/6
D & 3W: ST 180 / 3i: MP-H5 / 4-PW: MP-4 / 50º: MP-T5 / 55º: FG Tour PMP  / 60º: Hi-Toe / Mizuno Bettinardi BC-4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, denkea said:

So am I correct in assuming that if E-12 were not in effect and someone dropped BOL without marking the relief point, where the ball lands is in effect THE relief point and it moves 1" forward is that not a bad drop and if hit incurs a penalty? 

This is precisely why MLR E-12 was put in place, to enable Committee's to avoid this 'gotcha' penalty that could result from someone simply not choosing a reference point, the ball landing but coming to rest any distance at all closer to the hole than where it landed and then being played. Without MLR E-12, this gets the general penalty for playing from a wrong place (because it is outside the relief area).

It was an early recognised glitch in the new rules.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 hours ago, antip said:

We are suggesting something similar, with significant overlap. I support with the 'corridor' concept relating to width, but I don't like the idea of unlimited capacity to move forward or backward any significant distance - simply because it is too different from all other relief processes.

The player already has the right to move backward or forward within the corridor before dropping the ball.  Why should distance make any difference after the ball is dropped?  Yes, I realize that botl would be different than other relief areas, but I don't see that as a problem.  It might eliminate some of the drops that are planned to induce the ball to roll so that the player will get to place the ball.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

7 minutes ago, rogolf said:

The player already has the right to move backward or forward within the corridor before dropping the ball.  Why should distance make any difference after the ball is dropped?  Yes, I realize that botl would be different than other relief areas, but I don't see that as a problem.  It might eliminate some of the drops that are planned to induce the ball to roll so that the player will get to place the ball.

We agree BOTL must have some feature different. My preference is to have nothing different that doesn't need to be different and staying within a fixed distance of the reference is easily maintained in the case of BOTL. So permitting that to vary does not pass the 'necessary' difference test.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 hours ago, rogolf said:

The player already has the right to move backward or forward within the corridor before dropping the ball.  Why should distance make any difference after the ball is dropped?  Yes, I realize that botl would be different than other relief areas, but I don't see that as a problem.  It might eliminate some of the drops that are planned to induce the ball to roll so that the player will get to place the ball.

That’s what I was saying.  If we have this corridor to play from as long as the dropped ball is not closer to the hole than original place  why redrop if it bounces forward.  
  I must have missed in in 2019….the USGA-and I am guessing the R&A- had notes on the rules website about coming changes.  I do not recall any mention of botl relief changing from a relief corridor to a chosen drop area.  
 

Seems like an important omission to me!

Callaway Epic Speed 9* playing at 8* PX Hzrdus Green 60s

Titleist TS3 strong 3 wood 13.5* PX Hzrdus. Smoke 75s

Titleist 818H2 19* hybrid Tensei Blue

Adams A12 21* UST VTS Silver 75s

Titleist TS3 23* Tensei Blue

Srixon ZX7 6-pw Nippon Pro Modus 125s

Taylormade MG2 50* 54* 58* DG S300

Scotty Cameron Newport Special Select 34” with flow neck by LaMont

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

7 hours ago, Shilgy said:

That’s what I was saying.  If we have this corridor to play from as long as the dropped ball is not closer to the hole than original place  why redrop if it bounces forward.  
  I must have missed in in 2019….the USGA-and I am guessing the R&A- had notes on the rules website about coming changes.  I do not recall any mention of botl relief changing from a relief corridor to a chosen drop area.  
 

Seems like an important omission to me!

Yes, you missed it, and it's clearly in Rule 17.1d(2).

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules-hub/rules-modernization/major-changes/procedure-for-taking-back-on-a-line-relief.html

  • Thanks 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, rogolf said:

Unfortunately, it just missed the minor technical detail..... By the way, if you take a BOL drop without indicating a reference point and the ball when dropped finishes forward of where it first touches the ground, there's a two stroke penalty if you play the ball from there.

And if any Committee has not adopted MLR E-12, that feature is still there.

2023 will see something new in this space, as yet we know not what.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

  • Our picks

    • APPLY NOW: L.A.B. Golf MEZZ.1 Putter (Early Access) Member Testing! 10 Testers Needed!
      L.A.B. Golf is choosing ten GolfWRX members to receive their MEZZ.1 putter early and put their brand new product to the test before reporting back to the community about what they see. The selected testers will be one of the first to experience the MEZZ.1 from L.A.B. GOLF, their newest Lie Angle Balanced design, ahead of it's January 2022 launch!
       
      About The L.A.B. Golf Mezz.1 Putter
      MEZZ.1 is our new mid-mallet putter that’s fully CNC machined from a billet of 6061 aircraft aluminum (body) and 303 stainless steel (midsection) to create our best-feeling — and we think best looking — putter to date. It includes 10 weights (eight on the bottom, two on the sides) that allow us to individually build each putter to a golfer’s exact specifications.
       
      How To Apply
      In a post below, answer the following questions.
       
      1. City, State?
      2. Handicap?
      3. What is your current putter?
      4. Have you ever used a L.A.B. Golf putter?
      5. Why do you want to review the MEAZZ.1 putter?
      6. Do you agree to participate in an ongoing testing thread, posting reviews and photos?
       
      That's it! @labgolf and GolfWRX will choose the testers in about 2 weeks! This testing event is for good-standing members in the USA only!
       
        • Like
      • 231 replies
    • 2021 CJ Cup at The Summit Club - Discussion and Links
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
      2021 CJ Cup at The Summit Club - Tuesday #1
      2021 CJ Cup at The Summit Club - Tuesday #2
       
       
      Adam Scott - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup at The Summit Club
      Justin Rose - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup at The Summit Club
      Collin Morikawa - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup at The Summit Club
      Jason Day - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup at The Summit Club
      Justin Thomas - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup @ The Summit Club
      Erik Van Rooyen - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup @ The Summit Club
      Matt Jones - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup at The Summit Club
      Cam Davis - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup at The Summit Club
      Cam Smith - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup at The Summit Club
      Byeong Hun An - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup at The Summit Club
      Min Kyu - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup at The Summit Club
      Joohyung Kim - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup @ The Summit Club
      Tommy Fleetwood - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup @ The Summit Club
      Jordan Spieth - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup @ The Summit Club
      Lucas Glover - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup @ The Summit Club
      Keegan Bradley - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup @ The Summit Club
       
       
       
      Gary Woodland's new Cameron putter - 2021 CJ Cup @ The Summit Club
      Kevin Na's new Odyssey/Toulon putter - 2021 CJ Cup @ The Summit Club
      Jucie wedges & Proto irons - 2021 CJ Cup at The Summit Club
       
       
       
       
      • 6 replies
    • 2021 Shriners Hospitals for Children Open WITB Photos- Discussion & Links
      Please put any questions or comments here...
       
      Links:
       
      Harry Higgs - WITB - 2021 Shriners Hospitals for Children Open
      Ian Poulter - WITB - 2021 Shriners Hospitals for Children Open
      Corey Conners - WITB - 2021 Shriners Hospitals for Children Open
      Harry Higgs - WITB - 2021 Shriners Hospitals for Children Open
      Matt NeSmith - WITB - 2021 Shriners Hospitals for Children Open
      Doug Ghim - WITB - 2021 Shriners Hospitals for Children Open
      New Cameron Las Vegas covers - 2021 Shriners Hospitals for Children Open
      New Project X HZRDUS Smoke RDX shafts - 2021 Shriners Hospitals doe Children Open
       
       

       
        • Like
      • 15 replies
    • 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship - Discussion and Links
      2021 Sanderson Farms Championship - Monday
      2021 Sanderson Farms Championship - Tuesday #1
      2021 Sanderson Farms Championship - Tuesday #2
      2021 Sanderson Farms Championship - Tuesday #3
       
      2021 Sanderson Farms Championship - Tuesday #4
       
      WITBs
      Aaron Rai - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship
      Brian Stuard - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship
      Eugenio Chacarra - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship
      Davis Riley - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship
      Brice Garnett - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship
      Curtis Thompson - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship
      Richy Werenski - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship
      Andy Ogletree - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship
      Sahith Theegala - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship Will Zalatoris - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship Stephan Jaeger - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship Kevin Chappell - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship Jonas Blixt - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship Kevin Streelman - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship Sam Burns - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship Matthew Wolff - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship Jimmy Walker - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship Gary Woodland - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship Davis Thompson - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship Sam Saunders - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship  
      Special Galleries
       
      Odyssey putters - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship  
      Cameron putters - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship  
        • Like
      • 5 replies
    • 2021 Fortinet Championship - Discussion and Links
      Please put and questions or comments here
       
       
      2021 Fortinet Championship - Tuesday #1
      2021 Fortinet Championship - Tuesday #2
      2021 Fortinet Championship - Tuesday #3
      2021 Fortinet Championship - Tuesday #4
      2021 Fortinet Championship - Tuesday #5
      2021 Fortinet Championship - Tuesday #6
      2021 Fortinet Championship - Tuesday #7
      2021 Fortinet Championship - Tuesday #8
       
       
      New Ping putter - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      New Bettinardi putters & Cover - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      Ping Putters - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      Odyssey putters - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      Cameron putter and new ball marker - 2021 Fortinet Championship
       
       
      Sneds - WITB - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      Peter Uihlein - WITB - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      Charles Howell, III - WITB - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      Scott Piercy - WITB - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      Brandan Steele - WITB - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      Mito Pereira - WITB - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      Kevin Tway - WITB -2021 Fortinet Championship
      Joseph Bramlett - WITB - 2021 Fortinet Championship
       
       
       
      • 19 replies

×
×
  • Create New...