2024 PGA Championship WITB Photos ×

Nickent 3dx Ironwood DC Hybrid

ryan.s

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Anyone still playing this hybrid? Thinking about picking one up based on past rave reviews but was wondering if I would be losing anything in terms of performance since the current new and improved model is the 5dx. Is there that much of a difference if any at all? Thanks.

I just started playing the 3DX Ironwoods (20* and 23*) this summer - picked them up on closeout for $60 each. Can't offer any comparison with the 5DX but will add my standard caution not to buy into the marketing hype... newer does not necessarily mean better.

Decided 2008 was going to be my last season playing a 3 iron so I picked up a new 3dx in the off season for $75 new. I got paired up with a UST guy over the summer who was playing the 3dx with the stock SR shaft and he told me a few lpga staffers were asking UST to put this shaft in their non Nickent hybrids even.

So for $75 I picked up a 20 deg with the stock stiff and we'll see how goes this year. I ultimately selected the 3dx over the 4dx because I wanted the higher ballflight. If I didn't I would have just kept my 3i in the bag.

I have not hit the 4dx or 5 dx.........but that's probably because I'm happy with my 3dx dc. It's a 20 degree with the stock shaft (reg). I tend to slice the ball quite often but this club is very forgiving ! I hit this club straighter than any other in my bag.....and sometimes I can even hit a draw, lol.

For the money....the 3dx DC is a great club, imo.

I picked up a new 3dx dc on Ebay new with the stiff stock shaft for less then $30. I love it and would have been willing to pay much more for it. Given the price difference, I see no reason to even look at the 5dx. The 3dx is a great club and you can find them for very low cost now. Some people say the stock shaft isn't great, but I have no problems with it. It performs well for me. I say just pick up the 3dx.