2024 CJ Cup Byron Nelson WITB Photos ×

Myrtle Beach for a single... who's a hacker :(

DoinShots

Where can I go?
Hi all,

Noob here - I'm spending this weekend in Myrtle Beach for my wife's friends birthday. I will know all of three people in a group of twenty or so (one being my wife), so I figured this would be a great opportunity to get out for a bit (most likely Saturday). I did ask said friend's husband if he wanted to play, but he will likely be tied up entertaining the masses. As such, I will probably play as a single.

That being said, I REALLY want to play, simply because of all the great things I've heard about the area. Full disclosure, as much as I love the game and try to get out often - I am a mediocre hack, that hits the munis with other self-proclaimed hacks. I have my moments, but they are far outweighed by disasters. One thing I can't be accused of though, is being slow (at least I don't think so) - I try to always be ready, and I know when to pick up. This will be my first time out as a single, if I can muster up the courage. Is there any place I can play without being intimidated either by the course or fellow golfers? Any other tips on playing as a single would be appreciated as well!

Thanks in advance!

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I think you'll be fine whereever you go, as long as you play the appropriate tees. MB isn't about "great golfers" - it's about "great golf". Where in MB are you staying? North, Central or South? And what's your budget - are you looking for a fantastic course, just someplace to play? What kind of courses do you like - links, tree-lined?

Thanks for the reply - I think (heavily emphasized) we're staying in North Myrtle Beach. Truthfully, I'm getting in the car and driving where Gabby Garmin and the wife tell me to.