2024 PGA Championship WITB Photos ×

Hitting off heel of club *sha##*

Recently, I have come down with a bad case of the shanks! Even when I am hitting the ball solid, I tend to hit on the heel section of the club face.

Below is a link to a slow-mo swing with a 7iron, with the end result, a wonderful shank to the right. I have some ideas why this is occurring, but I'm looking for some feedback before I start changing things.

Please let me know what you think.

http://www.youtube.c...h?v=8IwA7b3Bb9E

• 1 month later...
  • Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm no pro and could use some work myself but two things I'm noticing is your peeking soo early on, it's an old rule but keep your head down. Also, I can't really make out the ball position but it seems further back in your stance, am I correct? Try placing the ball close to the middle of your stance or at least close to your left foot.

GL

[quote name='mkotthoff' timestamp='1317565586' post='3614897']
You're also dipping the tiniest bit. Just try to stay a little more upright and try to feel like your hips are square to the target at impact.
[/quote]

I'm no instructor and I didn't stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night either. But I agree with the dipping part. I'm of sufferer of this malady also. And a lot of the time I find myself losing my posture and that is not good. Try swinging and keeping your head at the same level till you've struck the ball.

Good luck and don't give up. You will get through it. :friends:

[quote name='Greenbird' timestamp='1314573755' post='3526041']
Recently, I have come down with a bad case of the shanks! Even when I am hitting the ball solid, I tend to hit on the heel section of the club face.

Below is a link to a slow-mo swing with a 7iron, with the end result, a wonderful shank to the right. I have some ideas why this is occurring, but I'm looking for some feedback before I start changing things.

Please let me know what you think.