Please critique my swing. (2 handicap)

grumpy84

7 iron swing head on and DTL
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2suNbI_Lp8E&context=C3647e60ADOEgsToPDskKtsQ0mJfqaFKRhy_ZHbwY-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hFWW6EhCrvk&context=C3647e60ADOEgsToPDskKtsQ0mJfqaFKRhy_ZHbwY-

Totally self taught, never had a lesson. Hover around a 2 handicap and consider my ball striking to be a stronger point of my game.

I know my back swing is rather short, I'm working on gaining flexibility to help facilitate a better/bigger turn. I have rather quick tempo and transistion and cannot seem to make my swing work when I try to slow things down. Truthfully I don't know if if should be trying to as it gets ugly when I try haha. I Know my left hand grip is rather strong as well and sometimes gets me in trouble. Problem is whenever I weaken my left hand grip i tend to flip more at impact and hit high fluttering balls to the right as I have harder time squaring the face. I've also noticed the heel of my right foot comes off the ground slightly on my downswing well before impact and I'm not sure if this is good or bad.

Any tips or pointer is greatly appreciated. I'm open to hear any suggestions or comments you may have.

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

self taught, 2 handicap....i'd be wary of trying to change too much, especially if you consider ballstriking to be the stronger point of your game. if you have a big miss that comes up at bad times, or a consistent miss that's bugging you....then there's always stuff to work on. but don't change just to change.

you're probably pushing off the ball of your right foot to create some power in the downswing...it's more ideal to have it roll over as you pivot with almost all your weight on your left heel.