2024 CJ Cup Byron Nelson WITB Photos ×

Private Membership Feasability

I have the opportunity to get on the waiting list at one of the most prestigious courses in the area, this coming with a relatively small deposit. I am fairly young and the wait is upwards of 15 years but thats typical for the area and type of course, but it does come with a social membership in the next couple of years etc. Im still learning whats all involved.

I am currently a member at an average semi private course and the yearly dues are very reasonable.

Looking for comments on whether its worth the wait and the investment.

Also note our golf season is only 6 months MAX

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I can't see a 30 year old person in this day and age having any clue what his financial situation, recreational preferences or for that matter even location of residence might be 15 years from now. That's the kind of thing might have made sense in the 60's or something.

That said if it's truly an insignificant amount of money and/or if it's refundable and if you really, really believe it would be great to join the club, what the heck. But man, fifteen years? That's an eternity in today's world.

P.S. If the landscape of high-$$$ private country club memberships is even remotely similar 10 years from now compared to today, I will be gobsmacked. Ten years ago there were plenty of places where playing at a decent private course came with those sort of waiting lists attached. Today there's a fraction as many and tomorrow the number ain't gonna be bigger, if anything it will be much rarer still.

[quote name='EAWilson' timestamp='1331521071' post='4486819']