2024 US Open WITB Photos ×

1-hour Range Session Routine (Medium bucket?)

nahnunya

Hey everyone,

I wanted to share and compare ideas on how to structure a 1-hour range session. I have been going to the range weekly in an attempt to improve my ball striking (I'm a novice golfer) and drill the feelings involved in swinging a club. Usually I able to go once or twice a week, and was curious what some of the better golfers here would suggest as a practice routine under these circumstances. Obviously I cannot develop a complete game with only 1-2 hours of range time a week, but my sincere goal is to at least optimize that time and give me the best chance at improving my general ball striking/shot shaping. 

Here's what I've done:

- Warmed up with 5-15 minutes of "9 to 3" shots.

- Hit three consecutive, identical shots with one club before moving on to the next.

- I've been doing this to drill consistency and it sucks when I am failing but when I'm not, it feels great to move through the bag. Gives confidence when pulling a club from the bag on-course. 

- "Play a hole at the range" by starting with driver, then hitting an iron, then hitting a wedge.

- Just rip 10-20 driver shots (man I suck with this club but it's fun to use).

- Incorporated alignment sticks into all or parts of a practice session.

- Target on-range markers like signs, pins, painted targets, and etc with my wedges to drill approach shots and "touch" (distance control I guess?)

You can see it's not the most structured approach. I'll mix and match these things. Oftentimes I go out there trying to hit clubs I've struggled with on the course to address my weaknesses. Tbf I am starting quite with my work cut out for me... I'm shooting like 120-140 for a full 18-hole round, so I have a ton of room to improve and am excited about that process. I'd like to get to a point where I'm confident taking more than a 7i off the tee and mis-hitting 1 out of every 2 or 3 shots fairway shots.