2024 Wells Fargo Championship WITB Photos ×

U want to know about pro golf!!!!

1day2day

I have seen quite a few posts recently asking about pro golf, how is it, how good do I need to be etc. So I guess my inspiration for writing this post came from that.

I am a tour player based in the UK; I have chosen to play the Renault EPD tour based mainly in Germany this year.

To me the most difficult process to professional golf has been the years of trying to get sponsorship; to some guys they thrive on the pressure of having to do really well just to afford to play next week. To me however I have always needed a security blanket. So this year’s finances have stacked up that I have one sponsor who pays £20,000 for all tournament fees and all costs associated with the tournament and then I have another sponsor whom pays me £24,000 living expenses. Now some guys may feel ‘wow’ lucky guy, but trust me I have been a pro for 5 years there has been no ‘luck’ involved just relentless letters and networking. As I have improved so the sponsors have been knocking on the door. I would advise anyone who plays or is thinking of playing and they have had a decent am career to watch out for management companies, I signed for 1 a few years back and seriously cost me a lot, the deal was 24% of all winnings and 43% of all endorsements. They in return create starts on the European and challenge tour. Trust me if you can avoid these guys and you are not a ‘main’ tour guy avoid them, all the ground work and begging letters for tournament starts you can do yourselves!!

I turned pro in the Uk off a +2.2 handicap, at my club I still keep an unofficial one of +4.0, my home course is pretty short par 72, for guys that fly it over 250 yds the course can be really easy to blitz to ‘normal’ members it’s a total nightmare!