2024 CJ Cup Byron Nelson WITB Photos ×

Tommy Armour 693's

need expert opinion
Wow - my first post. I've been a long time reader, but never replied or posted until now. I started collecting vintage clubs last summer when I started playing on Thursdays with my father (65 years) and his high school buddies. Modern sticks tee from the tips, vintage sticks tee second spot from front. Match play, one tie, all tie, with carryovers, double on birdies, 0.25 per hole. Great fun. Now I have a basement room filling up with vintage clubs that I find on ebay and at local thrift stores. My wife thinks I have a problem.
SO - about a month ago I ran across these at a local thift store rack. I believe thay are the real deal but thought I would consult the experts with three questions.#1 - Authentic? - From what I can tell I believe these are mostly original. They may have been refinished long ago, due to the fact that the neck numbers are mostly gone except a very faint one on the driver and the appearance of one on the 2. I can't see anything on the 3 wood. I tried to photograph as best I could.
#2 - what would be the cost of a professional refinish? OR should I keep them in this existing state? ( I know if I got them refinished, it would be hard to not game them at least one time)
#3 - Any thoughts on a real world value? both existing and refinished?
I have included photos that I hope will be helpful. (I have more than can be uploaded, so please let me know if what you need to see)
Thanks all.

Due to the limited photo space, I have moved my photos (including additonal).
Link: http://s864.photobucket.com/albums/ab203/johnalex444/1949%20Tommy%20Armour%20693s%20original%20condition/

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

What a great find!! Why cant I walk into a thrift store and find a set of 693s??? :(