2024 PGA Championship WITB Photos ×

Do you do any strength exercises?

I want to walk 18 without hurting...
First a little background:
I am 54 and have been playing since 1973. I have always been athletic. Baseball career was stopped (1973) due to lower back problems.
During those years, I occassionally worked out lifting weights, jogging 3 miles three times a week, etc. I think that the weightlifting may have done some damage because my joints/muscles are ALWAYS in pain. No matter which way I twist, turn I hurt... not severly though. I tested for Lyme but although "tyter" was high, Lyme was negative. Might be some arthritis.

Anyway, I started playing again last year and try to play at least twice a week. I try to walk (push cart)to save money but find that my legs and back hurt around the 14th hole. I can walk a non hilly course with a push cart and feel pretty good, but any course with moderate hills and I have some leg and back pain. Enough pain where, after 18, I'm done. I carried a few times and although easier, up hills, than pushing a cart, my back had enough.

My goal is to be able to walk, carry or push, 18 holes and not feel whipped.

I started doing flexability (Yoga) exercises but was wondering if anyone does other things that has actually helped them walk the course better.

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm no Dr, Now that the disclaimer is out of the way. I've found (personally) sometimes what hurts is the result of something else being out of whack and you're compensating in your walking. At our age (I'm 51) the back is certainly a natural to give you problems, especially with all the sports you've played.