2024 Wells Fargo Championship WITB Photos ×

Newbie's First Thread / Scotland & Ireland Advice

bcwgobuffs

Newbie here -

I am the designated researcher and planner for our group seeking to go across the pond to Scotland or Ireland next summer. It's a crap job, better to be the driver or passenger than the actual navigator, but I digress.

The feedback I am getting from several, allegedly, reputable trip companies indicates that if we want to play the Old Course, we might already be past the 2013 date to get a guaranteed tee time summer 2014. Especially true if the week we travel is not flexible. Also hearing that the local 'lottery' system is unlikely to get 8 of us on the course on the same day, 4 more probable. This seems logical.

So, if you've done this drill, did you have to commit and make deposits this dang early for a July "following year" trip?

Did you consider taking the Old Course out of the mix and if so, did it buy you more time to make decisions and get commitments / deposits from your group?

Clearly it seems smaller groups would be more flexible, but I am bit surprised that they seek commitments so soon -- well duh, it could be a sales pitch to get revenue in the door, but then again, it could be fact-based and subject to supply and demand economics.

What other suggestions do you have?

As info, we are leaning to 7 days, 5 rounds (6 or 7 for the true fanatics) and middle to lower -end accommodations allowing more cigars and whiskey.

Many thanks in advance for a few words of advice from all of you.

BCW in Omaha

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

As for accommodations, when I played at the Old Course I stayed at a place about 15 miles south in the village of Crail. I'm not 100% sure if they'd have room for 8 though. The proprietors were very nice and accommodating and the food was good. Also, Crail has a fun course of it's own.

I'll try to find the name of the B&B if you are interested.