Another pin in ?

 Wizzo1 ·  
Wizzo1Wizzo1  143WRX Points: 69Members Posts: 143 Fairways
Joined:  in Rules of Golf and Etiquette #1

What happens if your ball gets stuck between the hole and the pin and doesn't drop on its own?

Posted:
1

Comments

  • Colin LColin L  2403WRX Points: 369Handicap: 16.5Members Posts: 2,403 Platinum Tees
    Joined:  edited Mar 22, 2019 #2

    If any part of the ball is below the surface of the green, your ball is holed. Rule 13.2c
    If your ball is resting against the flagstick but no part of it is below the surface of the green it is not holed. If you move it when you take the flagstick out there is no penalty and you must replace your ball on the lip of the hole even the ball dropped into the hole.

    Posted:
  • GolfWRXGolfWRX Warning Points: 0  11 Members Posts: 11 #ad
    Joined:  ...

    Advertisement
  • LeoLeo99LeoLeo99  4662WRX Points: 561Members Posts: 4,662 Titanium Tees
    Joined:  #3

    On -, @Colin L said:

    If any part of the ball is below the surface of the green, your ball is holed. Rule 13.2c
    If your ball is resting against the flagstick but no part of it is below the surface of the green it is not holed. If you move it when you take the flagstick out there is no penalty and you must replace your ball on the lip of the hole even the ball dropped into the hole.

    I thought I knew the rule but apparently, I do not. I thought the rule was if the is wedged between the stick and hole and you wiggled the flagstick and the ball goes in the hole, it's holed.

    Posted:
  • davep043davep043  4743WRX Points: 1,979Handicap: 6.3Members Posts: 4,743 Titanium Tees
    Joined:  #4

    On -, @LeoLeo99 said:

    On -, @Colin L said:

    If any part of the ball is below the surface of the green, your ball is holed. Rule 13.2c
    If your ball is resting against the flagstick but no part of it is below the surface of the green it is not holed. If you move it when you take the flagstick out there is no penalty and you must replace your ball on the lip of the hole even the ball dropped into the hole.

    I thought I knew the rule but apparently, I do not. I thought the rule was if the is wedged between the stick and hole and you wiggled the flagstick and the ball goes in the hole, it's holed.

    that was the old rule, this was one that changed this year

    Posted:

    Home is Reston, Virgina, with regular visits to Southern Pines, NC

  • rogolfrogolf  4271WRX Points: 535Members Posts: 4,271 Titanium Tees
    Joined:  #5

    To be correct - if part of the ball is below the surface of the putting green AND resting against the flagstick, then it is holed. If both of these conditions are not met, it is not holed.

    Posted:
  • nsxguynsxguy Just anudder user Florida 6641WRX Points: 1,080Handicap: 8.6Members Posts: 6,641 Titanium Tees
    Joined:  #6

    On -, @rogolf said:

    To be correct - if part of the ball is below the surface of the putting green AND resting against the flagstick, then it is holed. If both of these conditions are not met, it is not holed.

    I'm struggling to think of how the ball could be within the circumference of the hole and NOT be resting against the flagstick (assuming the flagstick is IN the hole LOL).

    Posted:
    Callaway Epic 10.5 Project X Hzrdus Yellow 63 gr, 6.0
    Adams A12 Pro hybrids, 16*, Aldila VS Proto Stiff
    Ping G400 19* hybrid Stiff 70 Stock shaft

    Ping G20, 5-PW, DGS300
    Ping Glide Forged 48*, 52* 56*, 60* DGS300
    Taylormade Spider-X Copper (Today - always subject to change LOL)
    Titleist AVX

  • LeoLeo99LeoLeo99  4662WRX Points: 561Members Posts: 4,662 Titanium Tees
    Joined:  #7

    On -, @davep043 said:

    On -, @LeoLeo99 said:

    On -, @Colin L said:

    If any part of the ball is below the surface of the green, your ball is holed. Rule 13.2c
    If your ball is resting against the flagstick but no part of it is below the surface of the green it is not holed. If you move it when you take the flagstick out there is no penalty and you must replace your ball on the lip of the hole even the ball dropped into the hole.

    I thought I knew the rule but apparently, I do not. I thought the rule was if the is wedged between the stick and hole and you wiggled the flagstick and the ball goes in the hole, it's holed.

    that was the old rule, this was one that changed this year

    Thanks. I'm glad that was the old rule or else I've been doing it wrong for many years.

    Posted:
  • GolfWRXGolfWRX Warning Points: 0  11 Members Posts: 11 #ad
    Joined:  ...

    Advertisement
  • HitEmTrueHitEmTrue North Texas 6795WRX Points: 582Members Posts: 6,795 Titanium Tees
    Joined:  #8

    On -, @nsxguy said:

    On -, @rogolf said:

    To be correct - if part of the ball is below the surface of the putting green AND resting against the flagstick, then it is holed. If both of these conditions are not met, it is not holed.

    I'm struggling to think of how the ball could be within the circumference of the hole and NOT be resting against the flagstick (assuming the flagstick is IN the hole LOL).

    He didn’t say within the circumference of the hole.

    Posted:
  • nsxguynsxguy Just anudder user Florida 6641WRX Points: 1,080Handicap: 8.6Members Posts: 6,641 Titanium Tees
    Joined:  edited Mar 23, 2019 #9

    On -, @HitEmTrue said:

    On -, @nsxguy said:

    On -, @rogolf said:

    To be correct - if part of the ball is below the surface of the putting green AND resting against the flagstick, then it is holed. If both of these conditions are not met, it is not holed.

    I'm struggling to think of how the ball could be within the circumference of the hole and NOT be resting against the flagstick (assuming the flagstick is IN the hole LOL).

    He didn’t say within the circumference of the hole.

    Well then, I guess now I don't understand how it could be "below the surface of the putting green and still be resting against the flagstick" and be holed without being within the circumference of the hole..........

    Posted:
    Callaway Epic 10.5 Project X Hzrdus Yellow 63 gr, 6.0
    Adams A12 Pro hybrids, 16*, Aldila VS Proto Stiff
    Ping G400 19* hybrid Stiff 70 Stock shaft

    Ping G20, 5-PW, DGS300
    Ping Glide Forged 48*, 52* 56*, 60* DGS300
    Taylormade Spider-X Copper (Today - always subject to change LOL)
    Titleist AVX

  • SocratesSocrates Warning Points 1+ Winnipeg 9929WRX Points: 905Handicap: 4ishClubWRX Posts: 9,929 ClubWRX
    Joined:  edited Mar 23, 2019 #10

    On -, @Colin L said:

    If any part of the ball is below the surface of the green, your ball is holed. Rule 13.2c
    If your ball is resting against the flagstick but no part of it is below the surface of the green it is not holed. If you move it when you take the flagstick out there is no penalty and you must replace your ball on the lip of the hole even the ball dropped into the hole

    I think it would be physically impossible to be resting against the flagstick and have no part of it below the surface of the green.

    Edit. NSX posted while I was typing.

    Posted:
    Ping G400 9º TFC 419 Stiff at 45"
    Cobra F8 5-6 Fwy at 18.5° Stiff
    Ping i20 3 Hyb 707H Stiff
    X2 Hot 4_-PW Recoil 660 F3 +1/2"
    Vokey SM2 52º cc, Ping ES 56º and ES 60º
    Ping Sigma2 Valor at 34.75"
    MCC Align Midsize

  • HitEmTrueHitEmTrue North Texas 6795WRX Points: 582Members Posts: 6,795 Titanium Tees
    Joined:  edited Mar 23, 2019 #11

    On -, @nsxguy said:

    On -, @HitEmTrue said:

    On -, @nsxguy said:

    On -, @rogolf said:

    To be correct - if part of the ball is below the surface of the putting green AND resting against the flagstick, then it is holed. If both of these conditions are not met, it is not holed.

    I'm struggling to think of how the ball could be within the circumference of the hole and NOT be resting against the flagstick (assuming the flagstick is IN the hole LOL).

    He didn’t say within the circumference of the hole.

    Well then, I guess now I don't understand how it could be "below the surface of the putting green and still be resting against the flagstick" and be holed without being within the circumference of the hole..........

    If it’s partially below the surface is the putting green, and NOT resting against the flagstick, it is embedded in the side of the hole. Not holed?

    Posted:
  • HitEmTrueHitEmTrue North Texas 6795WRX Points: 582Members Posts: 6,795 Titanium Tees
    Joined:  #12

    On -, @Socrates said:

    On -, @Colin L said:

    If any part of the ball is below the surface of the green, your ball is holed. Rule 13.2c
    If your ball is resting against the flagstick but no part of it is below the surface of the green it is not holed. If you move it when you take the flagstick out there is no penalty and you must replace your ball on the lip of the hole even the ball dropped into the hole

    I think it would be physically impossible to be resting against the flagstick and have no part of it below the surface of the green.

    Edit. NSX posted while I was typing.

    Flagstick not centered in hole. Wind blowing it to the side.

    Posted:
  • GolfWRXGolfWRX Warning Points: 0  11 Members Posts: 11 #ad
    Joined:  ...

    Advertisement
  • nsxguynsxguy Just anudder user Florida 6641WRX Points: 1,080Handicap: 8.6Members Posts: 6,641 Titanium Tees
    Joined:  #13

    On -, @HitEmTrue said:

    On -, @nsxguy said:

    On -, @HitEmTrue said:

    On -, @nsxguy said:

    On -, @rogolf said:

    To be correct - if part of the ball is below the surface of the putting green AND resting against the flagstick, then it is holed. If both of these conditions are not met, it is not holed.

    I'm struggling to think of how the ball could be within the circumference of the hole and NOT be resting against the flagstick (assuming the flagstick is IN the hole LOL).

    He didn’t say within the circumference of the hole.

    Well then, I guess now I don't understand how it could be "below the surface of the putting green and still be resting against the flagstick" and be holed without being within the circumference of the hole..........

    If it’s partially below the surface is the putting green, and NOT resting against the flagstick, it is embedded in the side of the hole. Not holed.

    Why didn't you just say that in the first place ? ¯_(ツ)_/¯

    Posted:
    Callaway Epic 10.5 Project X Hzrdus Yellow 63 gr, 6.0
    Adams A12 Pro hybrids, 16*, Aldila VS Proto Stiff
    Ping G400 19* hybrid Stiff 70 Stock shaft

    Ping G20, 5-PW, DGS300
    Ping Glide Forged 48*, 52* 56*, 60* DGS300
    Taylormade Spider-X Copper (Today - always subject to change LOL)
    Titleist AVX

  • HitEmTrueHitEmTrue North Texas 6795WRX Points: 582Members Posts: 6,795 Titanium Tees
    Joined:  edited Mar 23, 2019 #14

    On -, @nsxguy said:

    On -, @HitEmTrue said:

    On -, @nsxguy said:

    On -, @HitEmTrue said:

    On -, @nsxguy said:

    On -, @rogolf said:

    To be correct - if part of the ball is below the surface of the putting green AND resting against the flagstick, then it is holed. If both of these conditions are not met, it is not holed.

    I'm struggling to think of how the ball could be within the circumference of the hole and NOT be resting against the flagstick (assuming the flagstick is IN the hole LOL).

    He didn’t say within the circumference of the hole.

    Well then, I guess now I don't understand how it could be "below the surface of the putting green and still be resting against the flagstick" and be holed without being within the circumference of the hole..........

    If it’s partially below the surface is the putting green, and NOT resting against the flagstick, it is embedded in the side of the hole. Not holed.

    Why didn't you just say that in the first place ? ¯_(ツ)_/¯

    Something distracted me! :)

    Posted:
  • Mr. BeanMr. Bean  4780WRX Points: 451Handicap: 3,8Members Posts: 4,780 Titanium Tees
    Joined:  #15

    On -, @nsxguy said:

    On -, @rogolf said:

    To be correct - if part of the ball is below the surface of the putting green AND resting against the flagstick, then it is holed. If both of these conditions are not met, it is not holed.

    I'm struggling to think of how the ball could be within the circumference of the hole and NOT be resting against the flagstick (assuming the flagstick is IN the hole LOL).

    The ball could be resting against something else, something that is not normally in/on the hole and should not be there. A rare occasion but possible. In fact, there was a thread years ago possibly on this forum how to Rule if a ball is resting on top of a large leaf on top of the hole. Also I vaguely remember a case where the flag was detached from the flagstick and fell onto the hole and a ball ended up lying on top of the flag.

    Golf is a game in which even against all odds may be plausible...

    Posted:

Leave a Comment

Rich Text Editor. To edit a paragraph's style, hit tab to get to the paragraph menu. From there you will be able to pick one style. Nothing defaults to paragraph. An inline formatting menu will show up when you select text. Hit tab to get into that menu. Some elements, such as rich link embeds, images, loading indicators, and error messages may get inserted into the editor. You may navigate to these using the arrow keys inside of the editor and delete them with the delete or backspace key.