Driver length. PGA and lpga

rexroh

I have been playing around with driver length for at least a couple of years now.

I am 76 years old and over the past three years or more I have lost considerable distance. At least 50 yards and at times nearer 70 yards. This I accept is partly due to age and Ill health over the past couple of years. Five years ago I was on a single figure index but now I am almost out to 18. Most of my bad scoring is caused by not being able to reach par 4’s in two. Hence the experimenting with longer and shorter driver shafts. As I do not have access to the measuring equipment (spin etc) most of my experimenting is done by trial and error.

While researching I found that the average PGA pro’s driver is often quoted as 44.5 inches. Now doing more research I find that the average LPGA driver length is 45.25 inches.

The women generally have slower swing speeds than the men. Yet they opt for a longer shaft. I wonder why this is. Also my swing speed would be much lower again so I am thinking maybe I should look more into the longer shaft. I hit my good drives about 220 yards. Today I used a 44.5 length Ping G30 driver which I hit well but did not gain anything in distance. I have always been a good driver hitting 12 of 14 fairways or better. On a bad day this may be 10 of 14. Because of the lack of length I do not miss many fairways. I also use a Taylormade M1 driver that gives me another 3 to 5 yards but not quite as accurate.

I am interested in those who have been down this path and what they finally decided to use. Shorter, standard, or longer. Also comments from experienced fitters who must deal with this problem frequently.

I have read most if not all the postings here on driver length but have not found anything on why the LPGA drivers were longer.