2024 PGA Championship WITB Photos ×

For the Retired, How has your golf life been?

weten2

I'm sitting in Chicago at lunch and plan to retire in 6 months. With this weather I'm getting anxious to play and look forward to playing 12 months of the year 2-3 times/wk (only 20 rounds last year) in Florida and Ohio. With anticipation I'm wondering if I'm expecting too much enjoyment or will it live up to what I'm hoping for. I'm an engineer and enjoy reading about golf equipment and think I could get into some form of club building.

How has it been for you?

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

[size=5]Disaster!I don't know if you plan on becoming a member of a golf club or just play more and fiddle around with clubs,if the former then my best advice would be to make damn sure that you have a substantial supply of like-minded people to play with and that the club is everything it purports to be or you may find as I have that you have almost no common ground with the other members and that the club operates on a basis that you find inefficient and unbearable.[/size]
[size=5]I made the very wrong and stupid assumption that all golfers are the same which is not the case,be sure that your club of choice is right for you.[/size]
[size=5]The positive side is that it's fantastic to be able to golf whenever the fancy takes you rather than being limited to weekends or holidays and don't forget,the sun always shines on a golf course![/size]
[size=5]Enjoy![/size]

Played over 100 rounds in 2013 and enjoyed every one.
Last 2 months trapped in the snow and ice with no golf has been a problem, however.
I agree finding people you enjoy playing with is a key.
Hasn't been a problem at all for me, though. I belong to a semi-private club where the atmosphere is very low key and I have yet to find a member I can't/won't play with.
I also have several friends who I play state golf association torunaments with- about 35-40 of those rounds last year.