2024 PGA Championship WITB Photos ×

Orange Whip Swing Trainer Results!!!

c3wdd

So you've seen the Orange Whip in PGA tour golf bags. You've noticed PGA tour pros carry the Orange Whip like it's another club in their bag. Maybe you've even attended a PGA tour even and have personally seen the Orange Whip. What's all the fuss?

Hit the rewind button to the 2012 PGA Show in Orlando Florida. As I'm roaming the floor I stumble upon Jim Hackenburg, inventor of the Orange Whip. I'm killing time so I decide to start up a conversation. I explain to Jim that at 43 my swing speed has slowed about 5 mph from it's peak and in addition I'm less flexible that when I was in my 30s. I'm a plus 2 handicap and a good ball striker. In 2012 my Driver swing speed hovered around 105. Jim looks me in the eye and proceeds to take me over to an area of the PGA show where we can work together and discuss the golf swing. You see Jim is a teacher by trade. When a teacher has a chance to teach, they don't miss out on the chance.

Jim informs me that he made a prototype of the Orange Whip when he was teaching students and his students began to ask were they could purchase one. That's when he decided to go into business.

Jim hands me an Orange Whip and asks me to get stretched out. We start out very slow; small swings 1/2 swings, 3/4 swings, then full swings but at a slow pace. He instructs me to start the orange whip at the address position and move it 12 inches in front of the ball, then slowly draw the club back to the top and swing through the ball. If you've watched a lot of TV Golf you've probably seen Davis Love III do this type of pre-shot routine in the past.