2024 John Deere Classic WITB Photos ×

The 15 yard quest.

Eidolon

Something to ponder upon as winter drags by. It is nuts how many guys come into my shop and spend so much good money after bad. 15 yards? 45 feet...1 club length...1/2 a club and a good putt, not much really. But they all chase it to no end.

I have all the shots but one. I do not have the 270+ yard drive. Basically I live in the 240-250 world. 45 feet further will not change my average score one bit. As long as I keep it between the trees, the wedge and putter determine my score.

The surperb classy pro( who you all know) that taught me how to "play golf", had a line he drummed into my head. When planning a shot, " don't let your expatations excede your abilities".

I do not have and never will have the 270 yard drive. It is not required to play well! Stop chasing the fantasy and enjoy the game. Most of us here know this, but for those that do not..i'm just an old pro trying to help some friends have a better day. I had the overpowering need to give a golf lesson today, if this helps just one person i'm good with it. Mike

I realize this kinda rambles, sorry it's late and i am tired. :)

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

LOL do not feel alone and out in the cold I live in that 250 world too now. The wedges and putter were always the basis of my game when I was younger. Back then I was a fairly long knocker but could not find a fairway with both hands and a flashlight! I have gotten older and my SS went down and I got accurate with the driver. I thought for a while it may be the modern equipment but found out I was wrong. I now hit my persimmon woods straighter than ever but short as crap about 235 or so at Sea Level with a modern low compression ball.
Like Dirty Harry said "Man has to know his limitations" Took me a while to figure that one out I will admit. You also know the line about being "older and wiser" Took me almost 52 years to figure that one out too!