Acer Thriver Mini Experiment/ Review

Lemonde

I decided to do a little experimenting during the silly season and put together Hireko's Thriver Mini with a GD YS+ shaft. I wanted to not break the bank in case it didn't work out so I picked up the GD shaft on the cheap online through Golftown. This is my first time hitting a GD shaft, and I'm still waiting for TM Canada to ship my M1 440 with the Tour AD TP.

Looks => The head is large, about the footprint of at least a 400cc driver but the face is thinner than I would like, preference would be another 5mm or so in depth. Sitting down at the ball it looks like it would be fairly forgiving. This is an all Titanium Head with a face cup design. I bought the 12 gram weight as well and switched out the 7 to get swingweight up. Shaft install was a little longer than I requested at 44" however swingweight is probably around D5 as a result.

Performance => Two one hour sessions, some practice and some playing on the simulator. Tee only testing as this is what this club would be used for and I left the old Razr Fit Xtreme driver at home. I struggled with the tee height a little so had to pick it a bit which I am used to doing with my driver anyways as I am a high tee ball hitter. On average it went between 270 and 295 with the odd one just over 300 with a pull draw. Some skyballs occurred due to face height and higher tee height in the sim. I have to say the GD shaft gives great feel and the club wanted to either go straight or with a slight draw an there were no slice balls or even fades. Clubhead was extremely forgiving and I didn't find a big difference in distance losses on mishits. I will test this club off the rug in my next session as it may surprise me given the face height.