TPC Boston questions

Captain 3 Wiggle

My wife and I will be in Boston for Labor Day and plan on going over to the TPC for one day (Sat or Sun). I know its roughly an hour outside of downtown Boston but what is the easiest way to get to the course as an out of town visitor? We are staying downtown.

Renting a car?

Uber?

Shuttle(if possible)?

Train?

Local WRXer picking us up and taking us?

Also, any recs for the city. Its my first time in Boston so I'm open to anything.

Any help is appreciated.

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Renting a car is your only option, it's so far and out of the way that Uber would probably cost you more. I'd do 2 dinners at different spots in the North End, you can take other high end restaurant suggestions but it's all higher priced for inferior food. The TPC is so crowded on the weekend I'd go early Friday(6-7am) if you could...public parking and shuttles all over the place when you get there. After a few hours which is more than enough there you could shoot to some Newport winery's, or cut across and head down to the Cape if you really have a full day to burn and drive out to Provincetown and there's a million stops in between if you go that way. You definitely need a car though once you leave the city.

Former Masshole here and I confirm what the other poster said. If you want to go the tournament you will need to rent a car. Avoid renting a car at Logan airport as it is a complete ripoff. Maybe rent a zipcar if that is still around. If you decide not to leave the city you should definitely NOT rent a car. It is a great walking city and the MBTA will take you anywhere you want to go in the Boston area. As for the tournament I would definitely go Friday or Saturday. The Sunday and Labor Day rounds will be crowded and on Labor Day you will drive back into the city that evening with every one else coming back from a long weekend at the Cape.