Skill Regression.

steventoo

Hi,

I've been playing for two years and took my handicap down to 15, before back problems caused in part by an atrocious swing inspired a trip to a coach and a complete rework of my game. I was at the stage where something had to change in a big way to allow me to improve further. I'd shoot mid 80's with some rounds below 80 and others well over 90. Consistency wasn't there. I'd have 48 stableford points one week and then 12 the next (seriously, I got 48 one Thursday and then went around in 12 on the following Monday!).

My old swing was awful and just about everything has needed adjustment. Since starting sessions with my coach, my handicap has shot up to 24 (!) and my ball striking consistency has fallen to pieces. About the only things I can do reliably are drive and putt.

Understandably, this is very frustrating for both me and my coach. It's not his fault - he's a very highly regarded coach and coaches several touring pro's, so the problem is clearly me. We've had about 10 sessions over a couple of months now, and while things got better initially I now struggle to break 90 and hit any iron shots I'm at all pleased with. I hit around 500 balls a week on the range, and about half of them do what I want. I just can't seem to build a repeatable, sound, solid swing. Brain says one thing, body does another. I lose concentration as I get more frustrated. It's a nasty cycle.

While I am sure that with time, determination, and practice, I'll be able to play better than I ever have before, I'm struggling with motivation. My game has regressed so badly that I'm starting to not enjoy playing as much as I used to.

I know I'm not alone and that most people have gone through something similar before. I'm looking for motivation to get me wanting to go and practice more (from house to driving range at my club takes 5 minutes, I don't really have an excuse other than work commitments) and convince me to stick with what I'm doing.