2024 CJ Cup Byron Nelson WITB Photos ×

Where does the fairway end?

I’m not a rules expert but I think the fairway ends where the green starts. Am I correct and is this always the case? I played a round of golf with a person who took a two stroke penalty for hitting out of bounds. Using the local rule option he could drop in the fairway one club from the rough but no closer to the hole. Because the grass next to the green was cut at a height similar to the fairway, that’s where he took relief. Plus he was definitely closer to the hole. My initial protest was the fairway stopped at the green. Was I correct? Thanks.

I don't think you were. The fringe is fairway, too.

Erik J. Barzeski | Erie, PA

GEARS • GCQuad MAX/FlightScope • SwingCatalyst/BodiTrak

I like the truth and facts. I don't deal in magic grits: 26. #FeelAintReal

"Golf is the only game in which a precise knowledge of the rules can earn one a reputation for bad sportsmanship." — Pat Campbell

11 minutes ago, ahenderX said:

I’m not a rules expert but I think the fairway ends where the green starts. Am I correct and is this always the case? I played a round of golf with a person who took a two stroke penalty for hitting out of bounds. Using the local rule option he could drop in the fairway one club from the rough but no closer to the hole. Because the grass next to the green was cut at a height similar to the fairway, that’s where he took relief. Plus he was definitely closer to the hole. My initial protest was the fairway stopped at the green. Was I correct? Thanks.

Iirc there is NO fairway defined in the Rules, EXCEPT for this Local Rule, E-5, an alternative for lost ball or OB.

For purposes of this rule, "For purposes of this Local Rule, “fairway” means any area of grass in the general area that is cut to fairway height or less."

So, IF that area is cut to fairway height, which a lot of holes are (right up to the green), he's good. Fringe ? Nope.